Irish History

Pre-Modern

This is an introductory guide to resources available to students at Boston College on Irish History.

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 1.3 million digital images. It covers many time periods and cultures and represent architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc. Users are required to create a personal account to access this database off campus.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of key 15th through 17th century printed texts.

Archaeological Heritage Map of Ireland
Archaeological Survey of Ireland (National Monuments Service)
"The Archaeological Survey of Ireland (ASI) is a unit of the National Monuments Service. The ASI was established to compile an inventory of the known archaeological monuments in the State. The information is stored on a database and in a series of paper files that collectively form the ASI Sites and Monuments Record (SMR)."
Open Access.

Chester Beatty's Digital Collections
Collections of manuscripts.
Digital Collections from the Library of Trinity College Dublin
Interface in Gaeilge, English, and multiple other languages.
Includes digital facsimiles of The Book of Kells ; the Robinson Collection of Caricatures ; an Oscar Wilde Collection ; the Papers of Major Richard William George Hingston ; and more.
Open Access.
National Museum of Ireland: Collections & Research
Interface in Gaelic and English.
Includes digital facsimiles (i.e., copies) of material from the stone age to the present. Includes video tours. Material focused on examples for potential visitors.
Open Access.

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 C.E. Contains texts from important authors such as St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, Peter Abelard.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of key 15th through 17th century printed texts.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.

CELT -- Corpus of Electronic Texts
Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing project. It brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide. It has a searchable online textbase consisting of over 19 million words, in 1636 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature, medicine, and the other arts.

Translated Texts for Historians This link opens in a new window
Sixty volume digital library of translated historical sources, spanning 300-800AD. Geographic range covering Syria, Arabia, Armenia, Georgia, Egypt, major cities of the Roman Empire, Spain, Gaul, Italy, Britain, and Ireland.