Historical News

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England. The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library that best represent nineteenth century Britain. Collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, this is the world's largest online family history resource. Draws heavily on newspapers, census and shipping records, and other government documents.

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, this database delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Users are recommended to check "Browse" for the list of more than 60 titles covered.

Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Strength from 1990 to the present. Nexis Uni replaces Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Includes more than 80 titles from the United Kingdom (title list). List includes newswires, journals, magazines, and web-only content. Coverage focuses on 2005 to the present.

The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals: 1800-1900 (Series 2) provides access to information about thousands of newspapers and periodicals published in England between January 1, 1800 and December 31, 1900. The database consolidates information from many thousands of secondary sources, including scholarly resources for press historians and innumerable reference works on the history of Great Britain. Additionally, the Directory includes digital images of title pages for numerous Victorian periodicals.

Available from 1851. Most recent 4 years not available.
Searchable full text images.

1842-2003 (full run). Searchable full text color images. Covers politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, and advertising.

Available from 1817-2002.
Searchable full text images.

1785-2009. Over 200 years of the Times of London. Searchable full text, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, and advertising.

This resource offers a complete facsimile edition of the Times Literary Supplement, from 1902 through 2014. Searchable by author and/or contributor, title, subject, date, etc., it contains more than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues, all available here in the context in which they were originally published. For the first time, identities of previously anonymous contributors -- reviewers, essayists, and writers of letters and poems -- are disclosed. Wherever possible, a contributor's biographical information is included, allowing scholars to get a better understanding of the reviewers.