Historical News

Latin American Newspapers

This is a short guide to historical news in newspaper, film, video, television, as well as audio.

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a collection of local, regional, and international news sources. Additionally it provides access to many sources of foreign news in translation. Best for 2000 to present.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
1941-1996. Transcribed and translated foreign broadcasts and news. The original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Now offers the opportunity for students to expand their research into primary sources that originated in languages they do not have.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Interface in English. Content in English, Spanish, and other languages.
Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Strength from 1990 to the present. Content predominately in transcription.
BC affiliation necessary.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Full text news (1995-2013) compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources translated into English, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Includes Latin America.

Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
Issues from more than 50 newspapers from countries including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela dating from the 19th to early 20th century. Search and browse by title, language, date and place of publication.

Latin American Digital Initiatives Repository
Includes a slowly expanding selection of newspapers from 1920 to 1998.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals
Interface in English; Material predominately in Spanish.
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
BC Institutional login required.

Latin American Newsletters This link opens in a new window
Since 1967, LatinNews (Latin American Newsletters) has been acknowledged as the foremost source of intelligence on political and economic developments in Latin America and the Caribbean. Read by business executives, the financial services sector, government officials and leading academics alike, LatinNews' comprehensive range of print and online resources offers subscribers a reliable, accurate and timely source of insight into key events that shape the region.

Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Digitized newspapers from 1789-1963 from numerous states. Also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory with information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Interface in English, content predominantly in Spanish.
Traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
Open Access.

Cuban Periodicals: Cultural Magazines Published by Casa de las Américas, 1960–2009
Interface in English; Material in Spanish
This primary source collection gives access to the archives (1960–2009) of four cultural magazines published by Casa de las Américas in Havana, Cuba. It includes the highly influential journal Casa, the theater journal Conjunto, the music journal Boletín de Música, and, finally, Anales del Caribe, a journal about the rich artistic and literary production in the Caribbean.
BC Institutional login necessary.