Reliable Web Resources

This website is produced by the government as a finding tool for government publications. There are options for advanced searching and browsing, as well as instructions for how to use each search engine for the best results. Publications that are available free online are linked to in the results, along with detailed descriptions.

This directory features information ranging from congressional biographies, to committee assignments, to international organizations. The information provided includes the 105th Congress (1997-1998) through the the past year. Each congress includes a drop down menu listing the various topics covered.

This government website provides links to other government websites and information. The homepage includes a variety of useful topics, which then link to various government websites that provide the necessary information on the topic. A search engine provides state and federal websites and information, and includes options for images, videos, and only usa.gov.

Portal to all information provided to the public by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, including health data & reports, education and testing, transportation, etc.

Created by the U.S. Government Publishing Office, this site provides access to the U.S. Government Manual. This manual presents information on government agencies, international organizations, and various other boards and committees in the government. Published each year, this site allows access to manuals from 1995 to the present.

Created by Cornell University Law School, this website provides Supreme Court decisions, both as PDF and HTML. An archive includes decisions from 1990 to present, as well as historic decisions. These are browsable by topic, author, and party. A legal encyclopedia and lawyer directory are also available through this site.

The White House website covers a wide range of topics and information, from the current administration, to recent press information, to history on past presidents and first ladies. This site is useful for recent news, as well as basic information on the structure of the U.S. government.

Created by the Massachusetts Bar Association, this site includes FAQs for various areas of law, from immigration, to family law, to real estate. The phone number to call for a referral is listed under "About" on the homepage and gives the user basic information on the process of hiring a lawyer.

Massachusetts Legal Services allows the user to find legal aid programs, as well as links to various Massachusetts lawyer referral options. A form on the homepage quickly searches legal aid options in Massachusetts, based on a person's location, age, income, and area of legal aid needed.

This government site provides IRS tax forms, as well as instructions and other useful and important tax information. The homepage features tax forms both for individuals and businesses, along with basic explanations for each form.

This website provides Massachusetts state tax forms and information both for businesses and individuals. The site includes options to file online, as well as contact information for questions regarding filing.