Reliable Web Resources

Created by the United States Census Bureau, this site provides data based on censuses and surveys from around the country. Popular information is searchable by location and a guided search allows the user to narrow down the specifics of the search.

This nonpartisan fact tank provides information on current trends in the United States and around the world. The site is searchable by keyword and is also easily browsable, both by "currently popular" and topic.

The United States Census website provides data and statistics for many elements of American life. Topics covered in this site range from population information to international trade. The site easily browsable by topic.A geography section allows users to see data on maps as well.

This site links to useful data and reports created by various government agencies. The homepage includes latest news, with new reports from a wide range of topics. Links to the statistics pages of government agencies are also included.

MassStats uses a map of Massachusetts divided by town and county to present data and statistics on topics ranging from safety and crime, to health and medical. Drop down menus on topic and map allow the user to quickly find the data they are looking for. The results are presented on a color coded map and may be viewed by clicking on the location of interest. A third drop down menu allows the user to select the town of interest, at which point the map will zoom in to that location.

This website provides detailed information on all Federal assistance programs, both financial and nonfinancial. The site provides printable PDF versions of the catalog dating back to 2008.

Produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. This website provides data and statistics on various topics from countries all over the world. A side bar lists data by theme, along with country for each theme. The side bar also includes a list of popular queries. Non-subscribers have access only to summary data. Complete data sets are available to subscribers through the OECD iLibrary.

Produced by the United Nations Statistics Division, UN Data provides general information on countries around the world. Each country has a page that includes everything from social indicators to economic indicators.

Created by the International Labour Organization, LABORSTA is a database that provides labor statistics from around the world. Topics include unemployment, wages, and strikes and lockouts. This site will gradually be replaced by ILOSTAT.

Created by the World Bank, this site presents data and statistics from around the world. Included are a "What's popular" page and a tutorial on how to use World DataBank. The site is browsable by database, indicators, and country and allows various ways to narrow a search, from including time and series.

The OECD iLibrary provides access to OECD data publications from around the world. Each e-book includes a table of contents for quick access of the information needed. The site is searchable and easily browsable by theme and country. Non-BC users are able to read the contents and access the tables, but are unable to download or print from here.

The CIA World Factbook is an easy-to-use, authoritative resource that provides maps and quick-reference facts and statistics (e.g. geography, government, people, economy, energy, etc.) for nations and regions.