Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Educational Resource Center (ERC)

:

About

About the ERC

Panoramic photo of erc

Vision Statement

From theory to practice...

As an academic library, the Educational Resources Center seeks to provide a dynamic diverse environment within which one can discover, experiment, and develop their own transformative educational journey.

Within our services, we aim to engage in meaningful conversations and interactions that enhance the human condition, expand the human imagination and build social contexts that promote justice, equality, and a sense of community. 

Through our collection, we have a responsibility to provide a spectrum of inclusive intellectual content that challenges one to formulate transformative thought in support of academic critical inquiry and intellectual freedom.

Our space provides an intentional means to spark creativity, collaboration, and innovation.

The ERC is committed to actively ensuring these ideals are reflected in our services, collections, & spaces.

About the Collection

Boston College Libraries contain a great number of resources useful for the practice of Education. The Educational Resource Center (ERC) has an in-depth collection instruction, curricular, and counseling materials The collection includes:

  • Classic Titles
  • Manipulatives
  • Textbooks
  • Diverse and Multicultural Titles
  • Award-Winning Titles
  • Various World Languages Books
  • Educational Technology
  • Assessments
  • International Titles
  • Easy Readers
  • eBooks
  • Graphic Novels
  • Audiobooks
  • Kinesthetic Resources
  • Workbooks
  • Games
  • Streaming Video Books
  • Musical Instruments
  • Big Books


New materials are added monthly to the collection reflecting trends and best practices in curriculum, instructional, and literary criteria. The ERC staff can assist patrons with selection. The entire collection may be accessed through the Boston College Libraries catalog

Interdisciplinary Elements of Subject Area

The broad disciplinary nature of Teacher Education requires that the ERC collections represent all areas of K-12 curriculum. Mathematics, science, social studies, art, music, and language arts materials, in a variety of formats, circulate to support the Teacher Education curriculum and instruction in the Lynch School of Education.

ERC Study Space
ERC Study Space

Facilities & Services

  • 20 computers with software programs and technology in support of teacher education; self-service scanning and printing is available. 
  • An interactive technology room for student use (interactive whiteboard, plasma screen, DVD, and VCR). Ideal for practicing lesson plans, presentations and working on collaborative projects.
  • A 50-seat multimedia classroom with tables and display areas for methods courses and other special programs.
  • Contains a large screen projection system, interactive whiteboard, VCR, DVD, cable and internet access.
  • Study carrels, tables for group or individual work, and reading chairs.
  • Alumni borrowing privileges
    Cooperating Teachers receive the same privileges as alumni while working with BC practicum students.

Study Spaces

The Educational Resource Center is a collaborative space with many different study space options.

There is a study carrel space, round tables for group or individual work, and reading chairs with and without desk attachments.

The ERC is not a quite library but the backspace tends to be less noisy. There is a long table with outlets, round tables, and a KIC scanner.

The ERC's interactive technology room has tables that can be configured as needed, a SMARTboard, and a plasma screen with DVD and VCR capability. This is an ideal space for practicing presentations and working on collaborative projects.

Read Aloud Program

The ERC supports the Read Aloud Program at Boston College by providing titles of new books as well as age-appropriate books for faculty and staff to use in classrooms. Consult our Read-Aloud Suggestions page for additional information.

For those who are participating in the Academic Language in Early Childhood and Elementary Classrooms: The Read-Aloud Project, or who are working with English-language learners, you may also want to consult the guide Academic Language in Read Alouds Project at Boston College.