Skip to main content
Chat With Us

ERC Test Collection

:

Getting Started

The guide lists the ERC Test policy and how to find tests.

Checking out Tests & ERC Test Collection Policy

Test Access

Only Boston College undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students who have acquired written consent from a Lynch School professor granting them permission to access the ERC’s test collection are allowed to do so. There are no exceptions to this rule. Should a patron have additional questions regarding the ERC’s test circulation policy or loan privileges, feel free to direct their questions to a Supervisor.

To gain access to the ERC’s test collection, interested students must have a Lynch School of Education faculty member email erc@bc.edu. If a patron is not on this list, they do not have access to the tests.

 

Viewing a test in the ERC

An ERC patron must have been granted written permission by a Lynch School of Education faculty member to view a test.

Alumni and non-BC patrons are NOT permitted to view tests. Even if the patron is interested in viewing the test in-house at the ERC, the test must be checked out in the same manner as it would be if the patron were planning on keeping the test for the full loan period

 

Circulation Policy

  • Patrons may only borrow two tests at a time.
  • Patrons must have their BC ID.
  • A test cannot be renewed. If there are no reservations on a test, a test may be checked in and checked back out to a patron, with permission from an ERC Supervisor.
  • Tests circulate from Monday to Thursday and from Thursday to Monday by 6 pm. If a test is taken out on a Tuesday, for example, it is due back on Thursday by 6 pm.


Fines

The fine for overdue tests is $10.00 per day, and is calculated as follows:
MONDAYS AFTER 6 PM OR THURSDAYS AFTER 6 PM...

Fine accumulates at the rate of $10.00 for each day or portion of a day the test is late
[the period from 6 pm-10 pm counts as one day]

Example: Test is due Monday but returned Tuesday...The fine= $20.00. This is to ensure that the test is back for the next patron

  • There will be a replacement charge for lost bags and tags.
  • All overdue fines are charged to the patron’s student record.

Searching the Library Catalog for Tests Available in the ERC

 

To find tests available in the ERC, use the following steps to search the library catalog.

1. Go to the Boston College Library Catalog homepage.

2. Click on the 'Advanced search' link in the blue box.Blue search box on library catalog page

 

3.  Under the 'Search Scope' drop-down arrow choose the 'Educational Resource Center'. In the first search field that says 'Any field', click on the drop-down arrow and select 'Local Collection Name'. In the black search field type 'test collection' and click the green SEARCH button. This will list all the test items in the ERC Test Collection.

Where to type text in search box

4.  If you want to find a specific test, add the name of the test in the second line blank search field and click on the green SEARCH button.

If you need assistance, please visit the ERC Service Desk or email erc@bc.edu for additional assistance

Finding Tests in the BC Library Database

Head Librarian, Educational Resource Center