iPads in Education

(Upper Elementary through High School) Focuses on the three types of rocks and the geological processes. Provides detailed information, detailed images, audio narration, videos, and an image gallery of material pertaining to the rock cycle.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) Users can learn about weather topics like climate change, heat and humidity, monsoon, floods, droughts, hurricanes, tornadoes, lightening, and cold. The added content features 3D models, video and audio, images, diagrams, accessible informational texts, quizzes, and puzzles.

(Upper Elementary through High School)
iQuakeMini displays earthquake activity around the globe using heat maps. Users can see where the last earthquake happened and is also the most active.

(Upper Elementary through High School) The Moon app shows the moon phases and altitudes. Allows users to research the moon for any date in the past or in the future.

(Middle School through High School)
This app provides visual images and stories about advanced space-based research.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) Hands on activities on the topic of plate tectonics, plate boundaries, Earth's layers structure, plate motion, earthquakes and volcanoes, maps and geography. Provides diagrams, activities and assesses learning.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) Topics include plants in our daily lives, how photosynthesis works, plants around the world, unusual plants, climate change, ways people use plants, and plants in art. Additional features include 3D models, videos and audio, photographs, cartoons, and animations. Quizzes and games included.

Upper Elementary An exploration problem solving app where users build a habitat from scratch. It features three wetland habitats, over 50 species and food webs.

(PreK through Upper Elementary) This app provides an interactive look at the senses and systems of the body. Different levels of play allow users to swipe and play or read about formal names of body parts. Users can also record audio questions and observations.

(Upper Elementary through High School) An in-depth look at the periodic table. It provides a 3D view of the element, facts, figures, and additional in-depth information through a link to WolframAlpha.

(Middle School through High School) Offers hands-on fluid experiments of the physical constraints of liquids. Includes values, density, stiffness, elasticity, etc. as variables to manipulate.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) Users will learn about, parts of an atom, discoveries about atoms, elements, the periodic table, fission and fusion, pros and cons of nuclear energy, and lasers. Additional features include, 3D models, videos and audio, photographs, cartoons, and animations. Quizzes and games.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) In this app there is informational text articles about electricity, its history, uses, static and dynamic electricity, and renewable power sources. Additional features include, 3D models, videos and audio, photographs, cartoons, and animations. Quizzes and games.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) Topics include the different kinds of matter, mixtures, properties and states of matter, physical and chemical changes, how matter works. Additional features include 3D models, videos and audio, photographs, cartoons, and animations. Quizzes, games, and at-home experiments.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) This app has information about simple machine, levers, wheels, pulleys, planes, wedges, and screws. Additional features include, 3D models, videos and audio, photographs, cartoons, and animations. Includes quizzes and games.

(Upper Elementary through High School) This app contains images of leaves, flowers, fruit, petiole, seeds, and bark. Also includes information about its scientific name.

(Preschool through High School)
Freeze and move Uzu in 3-D space while contorting spirographic curves with your fingers. Uzu lets you quickly switch between 10 different modes of real-time animation by simply changing the number of touches you're using.

(Upper Elementary through Middle School) An interactive story of two dinosaurs. Provides view of the habitats, 3D pictures, detailed dinosaur information, research notes, video clips, links to WolframAlpha, and differentiated reading levels.

(All) Use this app along with the Wireless Microscope. It display images from the microscope to the iPad. Ask about the wireless microscope at the ERC desk.

(Upper Elementary through High School) The National Science Foundation app provides engaging images and videos of science concepts, news stories, and discoveries. Information is shareable and downloadable to social media.

Middle School through High School) Eighty hands-on science lessons. Provides short videos to demonstrate experiments. Experiments can be shared and favorited.