This guide provides information about iPads and apps for use in the classroom to increase teacher awareness and usability of technological and collaborative learning in the classroom.
(Upper Elementary through Middle School, ESL) This app provides practice with comprehension and inference. Includes three levels of play, targeted questions, text reinforcement and records statistics of the user.
(Upper Elementary through High School, ESL) An auditory-visual dictionary displaying multiple meanings in word-tree form including synonyms. Information can be shared through social media and email.
(High School) A Multi-level approach to Shakespeare's Tempest allows users an interactive approach to the play. The app includes character maps, chronology for context, essays, videos, performances, and the first folio. Users can highlight, take notes, and share.
(PreK through High School, ESL) Multilingual and multicultural, this app provides full-text to children's literature. Allows users to search by age, country, language, length, and genre.
(Upper Elementary through High School, ESL) Available in English and Spanish, Newsela provides current full-text articles in multidisciplinary topics by Lexile level. Also includes are customization of assessments and writing prompts.
(Elementary through Middle School) Game-based, this single play app provides practice of auditory memory, visual memory, sequencing, processing speed, phonological awareness and working memory. Results detail strengths and weaknesses and can be emailed.
(PreK-Elementary, ESL) Over 1,600 sight words including Dolch, Fry,numbers, basic colors, shapes farm animals, months, days of the week, and family. Custom word lists can be imported.
(PreK through High School)Over 230 full-text poems included in this app. Audio recording is included. Users can record reading of the poems for fluency, favorite poems, search by title, author, first line or keyword, ability to compose and email poems.
(PreK through Middle School, ESL) Designed for users to practice building grammatically correct sentences. Uses visual cues, three levels of play, audio and visual feedback, self-correction and statistical tracking.
