History of Medicine

Digital facsimiles of microscopes, radios, and more

Includes several collections related to the history of medicine ranging from medical instruments and artifacts to tobacco advertising as well as portraits, posters, and EM slides.

Collection of historical medical instruments and artifacts, art objects, realia, and other three-dimensional objects related to the history of medicine, primarily originating from Europe and the United States, but including some artifacts from China and Japan. Ranging in age from the late 16th to the late 20th centuries, objects include medical kits and pharmaceutical items (often in the original cases and bags); equipment used in amputation, obstetrics, opthalmology, surgery, urology, neurology, early electrical therapies, and in research and diagnostic settings; instructional objects such as anatomical models and figurines; and other objects such as apothecary jars, cupping glasses, infant feeders, a bas-relief memento mori, and fetish figures.

A collection of uniquely valuable trade literature that tells the history of 19th c. science through instrument catalogs.

A doctor's website focused on medical ephemera focused on the 19th century.

Dissection Atlas of Orthopaedic Surgical Anatomy; Rehman Teaching Slide Library; Rehman and Smith Color Atlas of Orthopaedic Surgical Anatomy

US National Library of Medicine presents "Exploring the stories of scientific discovery" through Profiles in Science. Includes people from Oswald T. Avery to Mary Lasker, and Albert Szent-Gyorgyi.

The portrait collection presented here in Scientific Identity was assembled by Bern Dibner. The images formed a fine research complement to the thousands of scientific books and manuscripts in the library he founded, the Burndy Library.

The Osler Library Prints Collection brings together a rich variety of visual documents related to the history of medicine, spanning several centuries, countries, and artistic media. Ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons. Medical professionals throughout history are represented largely through portraiture, as well as through caricatures and scenes.