Historical Objects

Integrates a variety of sources including articles from magazines, reference books, and newspapers, many with full-text and images, with information about the latest current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

Combined searching of the historical New York Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, NY Amsterdam News, and Chicago Defender.

International association associated with the United Nations that aggregates political cartoons on specific topics from around the world.

The Library holds multiple, extensive collections of cartoon and caricature art that collectively contain an estimated 129,000 original drawings and prints in the Prints & Photographs Division. They include such diverse subgenres as political cartoons and caricatures, comic strips and comic books, gag and other single panel cartoons, graphic novels, animation, and born digital drawings.

Offering a look at voter rights through political cartoons.

Brings together a rich variety of visual documents related to the history of medicine, spanning several centuries, countries, and artistic media. Ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons. Medical professionals throughout history are represented largely through portraiture, as well as through caricatures and scenes.

International in scope from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries.

Satirical prints, or caricatures, from the Napoleonic Period, all giving political commentary on events of the period. Fifty of the prints were created by French artists, and thirty-three by English artists.

Material is added to this site on a regular basis.

This is an online collection of political cartoons from the University of Illinois Library Collins collection of books, pamphlets, newspapers, maps and cartoons; it was purchased by the Library in 1917. The collection consists of cartoons drawn primarily from the Weekly Freeman and National Press and United Ireland newspapers. The cartoons address the subject of Irish politics of the late 1800s and early 1900s, and, in particular, Ireland's relationship with England. Collection size: approximately 75 cartoons.

The following political cartoons come from the United Ireland and the Weekly Freeman and the National Press, Irish nationalist newspapers that commented on the last few decades of nineteenth-century Ireland. These cartoons illustrate Irish nationalist sentiments at the time by commenting on political events and figures, in particular the Home Rule Movement, the Land War, and the 1892 General Election.

From the Weekly Freeman and United Ireland newspapers, these items from the Irish Home Rule Political Cartoons Collection of 1884 and 1885 illustrate the continued struggle for independence. Several of these cartoons address the issues relating to the Land War of the 1870s and 1880s, which was fought as evictions and bad harvests encouraged general upheaval in Ireland.

In this essay, Kevin Kenny examines a British political cartoon to raise questions about the transatlantic nature of anti-Irish prejudice and its relationship to the history of racism in America.

The Library has over 600 digitised cartoons from the nationalist newspapers Weekly Freeman, Weekly News and United Ireland that were held in the library of the chief secretary’s office in Dublin Castle.

Dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. The BCA holds the artwork for over 200,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.

The Collection mainly covers 19th-century Parliamentary elections in Leeds between 1868 and 1880.

The Prints and Photographs Division holds one of the largest collections of British political and satirical prints in America. The approximately 9,000 prints (approximately 8,500 distinct images) in the collection highlight British political life, society, fashion, manners, and theater. They were published primarily between 1780 and 1830, an era dominated by the prodigious talents and prolific efforts of such famous caricaturists as James Gillray and George Cruikshank.

The Political Cartoon Gallery is Britain's largest and finest online gallery for original political cartoons and caricatures.

Approximately 2,600 cartoons from the collection. Clifford H. Baldowski, known by the pen-name "Baldy," depicted the local, national, and international news of his day in the editorial pages of the Augusta Chronicle, Miami Herald, and Atlanta Constitution. His work is a rich source of information for those studying political reorganization in Georgia and the growth of Atlanta as well as the Civil Rights Movement, the Cold War, the Vietnam conflict, Middle East tensions, and Watergate.

Searchable database of cartoons published in The New Yorker.

Covering content from Thomas Nast (1840-1902), an illustrator and cartoonist for Harper’s Weekly from 1857 (1862 full time) to 1887. Features topics like Chinese exclusion and Irish Catholic stereotypes.

Arthur Henry Young (1866-1943) - known to the world as Art - was the most widely recognized and beloved cartoonist of the golden age of American radicalism. Spanning the Age of Monopoly (1877-1929) his images gave a visual design and humorous edge to a rising wave of socialist, labor and anti-capitalist mass movements. Together they organized to oppose the unchecked power of monopoly capitalism, Wall Street finance and militant nationalism.

This collection from the National Archives, provides access to thousands of political cartoons that were originally published in the Washington Post and the Evening Star between 1890 and 1949.

Political cartoons drawn for the New York newspaper PM by author and illustrator Theodor Seuss Geisel. Creation Date: 1941-1943.

Jay Norwood “Ding” Darling worked as a cartoonist for most of the first half of the 20th Century. He started his career at the Sioux City Journal, and in 1906 began working at the Des Moines Register and Leader (now known as the Des Moines Register). He subsequently worked for the New York Globe and the New York Herald Tribune. After his travels to New York, he returned to the Des Moines Register where he worked as a cartoonist until 1949. Ding’s work was celebrated with Pulitzer Prizes and was published in newspapers across the country.

Collection of digitized cartoons from 1964-1905.

The Art Wood Collection of Cartoon and Caricature contains more than 36,000 original cartoon drawings, illuminating James Arthur Wood, Jr.'s astounding lifetime legacy of American creativity. The 102 drawings selected for the exhibition are stellar examples from this remarkable collection. These selections reflect Wood's primary collecting interests and strengths and the vitality of an innovative and evolving art form that includes political illustrations, gag cartoons, comic strips, illustrations, animation, and caricature.

This assemblage of more than 800 prints made in America during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries encompasses several forms of political art. The prints illustrate the rise and decline of allegorical expression and the evolution of important symbols such as Liberty, and Justice.

Celebrates Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Herb Block (1909–2001) with a look at his remarkable seventy-two-year career (1929–2001). Herblock! includes eighty-two original cartoon drawings, primarily selected from the Library’s extensive Herbert L. Block Collection. These cartoons represent Block’s ability to wield his pen effectively and artfully, using it to condemn corruption and expose injustice, inequality, and immorality on topics including the Great Depression, the rise of fascism and World War II, communism and the Cold War, Senator Joseph McCarthy, race relations, Richard Nixon, the Reagan era, the 2000 election, and more.

The LBJ Presidential Library political cartoon collection likely began in the late 1930s when cartoonist Jack Patton sent Congressman Johnson an original autographed drawing. By 1960, Johnson had assembled, by the use of the telephone and an occasional letter to the cartoonist, 150 cartoons dating mostly from his years in the Senate. Once in the White House, President Johnson then assigned a staff assistant the task of locating and soliciting cartoons. These cartoons make up the bulk of the museum’s political cartoon collection.

Collection of political cartoons of U.S. presidents from Ohio: Taft, Hayes, Grant, and McKinley.

Political cartoons from Harper's Weekly, Leslie's Illustrated Weekly, Vanity Fair, Puck, Judge, and the Library of Congress Political Prints 1766-1876.

American humor periodical.

The Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library Political Cartoon Collection displays social and political messages regarding the events of World War I. The cartoons date from approximately 1914 to 1918 with the bulk of documents undated but relating to the events of World War I. The cartoons are divided by subject and with the subjects alphabetically arranged within the box. Cartoons devoted to Holland and Germany specifically have been separated from other cartoons. Roughly half of the cartoons have been classified in the Miscellaneous World War I or Miscellaneous categories.