Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Online Instructors

:

Citation Tools comparison

Information about the collections, services and tools available from the Boston College Libraries to support faculty teaching online courses.

Basics

  Zotero
Zotero
Mendeley
Mendeley
ProQuest RefWorks logo
ProQuest RefWorks
EndNote
EndNote
Cost Free ($ for more cloud storage) Free for basic edition Free to BC students, staff, faculty & alumni Cost paid by individuals, labs, or departments
Access Desktop app,  browser plugin, & web account

Desktop app & web account

Web account

Desktop app & web interface

Availability after BC Free Free Free as long as BC maintains subscription; otherwise RefWorks Lite At cost
Help Guides BC Zotero Guide Mendeley Tutorials BC RefWorks Guide Endnote Training
Help Contacts

steven.runge@bc.edu

chris.strauber@bc.edu

enid.karr@bc.edu

kwasi.sarkodie-mensah@bc.edu

steven.runge@bc.edu

enid.karr@bc.edu

enid.karr@bc.edu

Core Functions

  zotero logo
Zotero
Mendeley
Mendeley
ProQuest RefWorks logo
ProQuest RefWorks
EndNote
EndNote
Adding References
  • Import via browser plugin from library catalog, databases, web, or via doi
  • Import bibliographic files
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
  • Import via browser plugin from library catalog, databases, web.
  • Import bibliographic files.
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
  • Export directly from catalog & databases; add manually from web
  • Import bibliographic files
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
  • Import from catalog & databases; reference capture from web 
  • Import bibliographic files
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
Creating citations
and bibliography

Add via plugins to

  • MS Word
  • Google Docs
  • LibreOffice

Add via plugins to

  •  MS Word
  • OpenOffice

Add via plugins to

  • MS Word
  • Google Docs

Add via Cite-While-you-Write to

  • MS Word
  • OpenOffice
Collaborating
  • Share group libraries via syncing or online
  • Public or private
  • Shared groups for citations
  • Limited sharing for pdf's
  • Share folders or projects with other RefWorks users
  • Public sharing available
  • Share library with up to 100 other EndNote desktop users
Storage
  • Desktop: unlimited
  • Cloud: 300mb free, more for fee
  • Desktop: Unlimited
  • Cloud: 2GB free, more for fee
  • New Refworks: unlimited
  • Legacy Refworks: 5gb
  • Unlimited

Strengths & Weaknesses

  zotero logo
Zotero
Mendeley
Mendeley
ProQuest RefWorks logo
ProQuest RefWorks
EndNote
EndNote
Key Strengths
  • Open Source
  • Robust notes
  • Public folder sharing
  • Robust pdf organizer + pdf annotation
  • Crowd-sourced citation database
  • Influence metrics
  • Sharing to specific accounts, to whole institution, or publicly
  • Web-based; no syncing or backup
  • Ease of adding references
  • Comprehensive styles
  • pdf annotation
  • Unlimited file storage
Disadvantages
  • Support limited to online documentation & user groups
  • Limited storage
  • Recently bought by Elsevier
  • Institutional account web-based only, with no export option
  • Inconsistent support
  • Bugs & workarounds, e.g. footnotes challenging, plug-in installation sometimes challenging
  • $$$