Marketing & Advertising

Find Ads

This research guide identifies major resources in the marketing and advertising fields. It includes demographic and general industry sources which focus primarily on the United States, though international sources are also included.

Magazines in Google

Google.com includes a collection of digitized popular magazines, including their advertisements.

You can browse the list or go to advanced search, check off Magazines, and enter a product name to search for ads across all titles.

Billboard
1942-2010
Jet
1951-2008
New York
1968-1997
Popular Science
1872-2008
Prevention
2006-2008
Runner's World
2006-2008
Vegetarian Times
2000-2004
Women's Health
2006-2008

Selected Sources of Print & Broadcast Ads

Gallery of Graphic Design
Browsable and searchable collection of images of hundreds of full-page advertisements placed in popular consumer magazines between 1932 and 1969.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to scanned microfilm images of current newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and others. Images can be zoomed, cropped, rotated, printed, e-mailed, and saved. Papers can be browsed (but not searched) by publication title, date, and page. Learn More

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search scanned images of newspapers and other periodicals, including ads, as far back as the mid-19th century.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Index of national network television news programs 1968-present. Streaming access for NBC broadcasts 1968-present and some CNN broadcasts 1995-present. Requests for other broadcasts can be made through Interlibrary Loan.

AdViews
A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
more...less...
These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) and are part of the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles Archives found at the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, American Broadsides and Ephemera includes facsimile images of approximately 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
more...less...
Includes early trade cards, advertisements, theater and music programs, campaign literature, playbills, begging poems, and more.
Ad*Access Project
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
Presents over 9,000 images, with database information, that "illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."
PSA Central
The Ad Council, the producer of public service ads (PSAs) on TV and radio, in newspapers and magazines, on billboards and on the Web, makes a wide variety of these ads available for preview or download on this site.

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 1.3 million digital images. It covers many time periods and cultures and represent architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc. Users are required to create a personal account to access this database off campus.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Marketing & Advertising

Find Ads

Magazines in Google

Selected Sources of Print & Broadcast Ads