British History

Includes a significant number of U.K. government documents (try searching for "United Kingdom" as an Author). Includes digital copies of parliamentary publications, reports, and more. Best between the 17th and 20th centuries.
Open Access for searching; downloads require BC institutional login.

Includes federal legislative, administrative and judicial materials from the collections of government and academic law libraries. Collection includes multiple volumes regarding the U.K. Colonial Office, material about "Dependent Territories," and more.
BC institutional login necessary.

Includes three collections focused on British foreign policy and diplomatic history: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939, Documents on British Policy Overseas - beginning in 1945.

Full text of the sessional papers presented to Parliament. Papers include reports of committees, royal commissions, public bills, and accounts and papers. Coverage: 1688-2005. Formerly called House of Commons British Parliamentary Papers, Eighteenth, Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries.

HeinOnline is an image-based legal research database with over 50 million pages of legal information in fully-searchable PDF format, comprising over 30 separate collections including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Treaties and Agreements Library and many others. Additional titles and years are added regularly.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

1931-1945, This collection of digitized Foreign Office Files from the National Archives, UK, documents Anglo-Japanese diplomatic relations and Japanese history. The current collection contains the module: Japan, 1931-1945: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific. Documents include memoranda, reports, correspondence and assessment of events and speeches.

This collection, sourced from the National Archives, UK, provides an expansive view of key events and their global political impact through access to files and documents of the Foreign and Commonwealth Offices. It covers the Iran-Iraq War and Arab-Israeli conflicts, Cold War politics, relationships with superpowers, the impact of oil wealth, and civil conflicts in Lebanon, Iran, Cyprus and Yemen.

Interface and material in English.
The Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) is the government department responsible for promoting British interests overseas, supporting UK citizens and businesses and eradicating poverty around the globe. The FCDO Historians provide a long-term, policy-relevant perspective on international issues, and contribute to the collective knowledge and understanding of the FCDO and British foreign & development policy. Includes primary source collections as well as scholarly interpretations.
Open Access.