Biology

Articles

This is a guide to the major resources for the biological and life sciences here at Boston College

Databases for Biology

PubMed
Search the National Library of Medicine's database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Web of Science
Search journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Provides detailed citation analysis and citation searching capabilities.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary database for author, subject and citation searching and citation analysis.
Google Scholar
Multidisciplinary search covering many types of resources. Provides good citation searching. To set up links to full text available through BC Libraries, go to Settings and enter Boston College in the Library Links area.
BIOSIS Previews
Search for life science and biomedical research. Includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.

Biological Sciences
Search a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

SciFinder
Chemistry and related fields, including citations to journal articles, books, patents, technical reports, conference papers, electronic resources, etc.

Supplementary Databases for the Biological Sciences

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Searches across AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases to cover topics such as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
GreenFILE
Search environmental literature, both scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
AGRICOLA National Agricultural Library Article Citation Database
Search the National Agricultural Library's database of citations to agricultural literature.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Citations, abstracts and full text (when available) to more millions of dissertations and masters theses from North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988.
Inspec via Engineering Village
Inspec is the world's largest bibliographic database focusing on physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computer and control engineering and information technology.
Compendex
A comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
EMBASE
Produced in Europe, Embase is a global biomedical and pharmacological research database with over 49 million records from over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals covering genetics, pharmacology, toxicology, environmental health, and more. Its unique search structure allows for searching in PICO format, as well as by medical device, drug, disease, and more.

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button: or FindIt@BC. Find It will offer help including:

If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text.
If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Biology

Articles

Databases for Biology

Supplementary Databases for the Biological Sciences

Where's the Article?