Biology

Data

This is a guide to the major resources for the biological and life sciences here at Boston College

Standard Data Tools

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Source for chemical data including basic constants, units and conversion factors; general health and safety information; and mathematical tables, etc.

Data Resources

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
NCBI's major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
RCSB Protein DataBank
The primary worldwide repository for biological macromolecular structure data. PDB is a major tool for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease.
UniProt (Universal Protein Resource)
Repository of protein sequence and function data from Swiss-Prot, TrEMBL and PIR.
EMBL-EBI (European Molecular Biology Laboratory--European Bioinformatics Institute)
The main European gateway to genetics information, offering a host of databases and tools. Some duplication with the NCBI databases, but also much that is unique.
BRENDA
Developed and maintained at the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne, BRENDA is a database of enzyme functional data for approximately 3,500 enzymes.
more...less...
Searchable by enzyme names and synonyms, E.C. (Enzyme Commission) number, CAS Registry Number, reaction and reaction type, organism, substrate, etc. Providing data, literature references, and commentary on strain and database sources.
The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)
Provides a server with a number of links and many mirrors. These sites contain e.g. information on the Union, its Commissions and Regional Associates, and its journals and other publications.
KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes
An amazing site stuffed full of biochemical information and data, including KEGG Ligand, KEGG Pathway (detailed, dynamic pathway diagrams of interaction networks and reaction networks), KEGG Genes (linking genomes to biological systems).
ExPASy Proteomics Server
ExpPasy (Expert Protein Analysis System) is the protein data server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB). Much duplication of data with NCBI's Entrez Protein database, but offering some unique search tools.
JSTOR Plant Science
"An online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public."

Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD) This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Structural Database is the world's primary repository for small molecule crystal structures, providing access to bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic data for organic, organometallic and metallic compounds. 3D structures have been determined using X-ray and neutron diffraction. The database records results of single crystal and powder diffractions studies. The web version (WebCSD) provides access to data; interactive functionality requires installation of the desktop client. For more information contact Nancy Curtis (nancy.curtis.2@bc.edu), Chemistry and Physics Librarian/Boston College Libraries.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Biology

Data

Standard Data Tools

Data Resources