Skip to main content
Chat With Us

ENGL8805: Beckett

:

Beckett at Burns

This guide provides an introduction to primary source materials owned by the Burns Library that relate to Samuel Beckett as well as databases, websites and other online research tools that may help you in your research on Beckett and his works.

At the Burns Library and Beyond

The Samuel Beckett Collection at the John J. Burns Library is comprised of seven distinct collections of Beckett-related material including manuscripts and typescripts by Beckett, correspondence with Beckett, ephemera, photographs, and publications by and about Beckett. The finding aid for the Beckett Collection at the Burns Library is available at http://hdl.handle.net/2345/3248 pdf opens in new window .

A portion of the Burns Library's Beckett Collection has been published as the volume No Author Better Served, edited by Maurice Harmon. This book consists of the correspondence between Beckett and his American director, Alan Schneider.

Before you visit the Burns Library to do your research, please look at the finding aid pdf opens in new window for the Beckett Collection, MS.1991.001, to learn more about this collection.

Online Resources

Burns Library Information

If you'd like to talk to a librarian or archivist about Burns materials to support your research, then please contact us at 617-552-4861 or submit a question.

Visit the Boston College University Libraries Hours Page to view the Burns Library's hours.

The Burns Library's entrance is on the North side of the Bapst building facing Boston College's main gate on Commonwealth Avenue. Look at this Boston College Chestnut Hill campus map for more detailed information.

When searching in Holmes, the BC Libraries online discovery tool, try limiting your search to material at the Burns Library and/or the format "Archives/Manuscripts."

Holmes Search Tips

When using the advanced search option in Holmes, consider adding one of these to your query:

Local Collection Name:

  • "MSS ARCHIVE" (for papers or organizational records)
  • "BC ARCHIVE" (for BC University records)
  • "FINDING AID" (for all collections with finding aids online)

Keywords in Subject:

  • "sources"
  • "letters"
  • "correspondence"
  • "manuscripts"

Keywords in Title:

  • "papers"
  • "collection"
  • "records"