Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

HIST 2045-01: A Material and Cultural History of Food in China

:

Bibliographies and Citations

This course studies historical continuity and changes of dietary traditions and culinary practices in China. We will examine how certain foods gave possibilities to and conditioned China's cultural formation and, in return, how food and ways of eating are

Approaching Bibliographies and Citations

For this class, you will be delving into your own project and writing a research paper. You will need to include appropriately formatted footnotes and bibliography following the Chicago Manual of Style. History is a science as well as an art, which means that historians use evidence to make their claims. Bibliographic records (in footnotes and in a bibliography) provide the record of your sources for other researchers to examine and track how you reached your conclusions. The purpose of following a set standard is to make that trail easy to follow.

Citation Style

Many historians use Chicago as their preferred bibliographic standard on account of its flexibility. 

Citation Management

Zotero logo

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. As you search, use Zotero to collect sources with one click from online catalogs (e.g. BC Library Catalog, WorldCat) and databases (e.g. JSTOR), as well as websites like Amazon, newspapers, blogs, Flickr, and YouTube. While you write, use Zotero to create in-text citations and bibliographies directly inside your Microsoft Word document from your personal library of references. Developed by the Center for History & New Media at George Mason University.

Download Zotero | More about Zotero

For additional help

For additional recommendations, contact your subject liaison (Dr. Bee Lehman) at brittany.lehman@bc.edu or schedule an appointment with them.