ENGR1101: Human-Centered Design

U.S. and Canadian advertisements from 1911–1955 covering five product categories: beauty and hygiene, radio, television, transportation, and World War II propaganda.

This collection includes The Brooklyn Daily Eagle from 1841 – 1963; Brooklyn Life from 1890 – 1924; and Brooklyn Life and Activities of Long Island Society from 1924 – 1931. Black and white copies include full page scans with advertisements and articles.

Establish a deeper connection to the period through the lens of those seeking freedom. The history contained within the advertisements is living.

Advertising artwork created by Theodor Seuss Geisel, author and illustrator known internationally as Dr. Seuss. Creation Date: 1920s-1950s.

Print advertisements published in local magazines, city directories, and theater pamphlets from 1867 to 1918. Themed groupings include health care and hygiene products, liquor, tobacco, machinery, manufacturing, transportation, fashion, food and household goods and local tourism.

More than 11,000 digital facsimiles from 1700 to the present of matchbooks and playbills, advertisements and typed letters, posters and postcards and more.

Browsable and searchable collection of images of hundreds of full-page advertisements placed in popular consumer magazines between 1932 and 1969.

Includes several collections related to the history of medicine ranging from medical instruments and artifacts to tobacco advertising as well as portraits, posters, and EM slides.

600 medical advertisements from the Hartman Center at Duke University

Search scanned images of newspapers and other periodicals, including ads, as far back as the mid-19th century.

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Alongside 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials.

Trade literature includes printed or handwritten lists, often illustrated, of items offered for sale ranging in size from small pamphlets to oversized folios of several hundred pages. Manufacturers of all sizes and types issued trade catalogs to promote and sell their products. Open Access.

Covering 1944-2001.

Offers a collection of Presidential commercials from 1952-2020.

A database of more than 1.6 million images drawn from museums, libraries, archives, photographers, artists, and more.

The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library is Yale University's principal repository for literary papers and for early manuscripts and books in the fields of literature, theology, history, and the natural sciences. The Beinecke houses outstanding special collections devoted to American literature, German literature, Western Americana, and British literary and historical manuscripts. The Beinecke Digital Collections database includes hundreds of thousands of digital reproductions of historical materials in its holdings.

The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.

This collection set includes US Civil War envelopes, 1861-1865; Civil War posters, 1861-1865; and Revolutionary Era broadsides.

More than 11,000 digital facsimiles from 1700 to the present of matchbooks and playbills, advertisements and typed letters, posters and postcards and more.

Contains more than 200 unpublished and published works and ephemera united by its focus on the struggle of Africans and African Americans through the Middle Passage to the Civil Rights movement.

The Osler Library Prints Collection brings together a rich variety of visual documents related to the history of medicine, spanning several centuries, countries, and artistic media. Ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons. Medical professionals throughout history are represented largely through portraiture, as well as through caricatures and scenes.