ENGR1101: Human-Centered Design

Getting Started

Reference Sources (maybe more useful than you might think for this assignment!)

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content. At present, there are two collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication and are cross-searchable.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference titles (Overview Pages, Subject Reference, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, Bilingual Dictionaries) to search for dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations simultaneously or select a subject or title to search.
SAGE Knowledge Complete This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge provides access to full-text book and reference content from SAGE, including its imprints CQ Press and Corwin. The database includes over 4,500 social science and reference titles published from 1994. New titles are added annually

Note: you may also want to check out the reference sources listed on this History Guide, depending on the object you pick.

Scholarly (Science, Social Science, Engineering) Sources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching, It covers from 1900 to the present, and is global in scope.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to journal articles and reports in anthropology, archeaology, and related disciplines. Coverage goes back to the early 19th century.
Beginning Friday, July 26 and lasting for up to 10 days, EBSCO ebooks and databases will experience a pause in availability of new or updated content. Products will be available during this maintenance period, but the most current content may not be available until after the work is completed which could take up to 10 days.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace Collection, the Materials Science Collection, and the Engineering Collection, and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of journals, magazines, transactions, letters, conference proceedings, for both IEEE and IET from the U.K. in addition to active IEEE Standards. The database includes unlimited access to more than 1,750,000 documents, and goes back to 1913. Updated weekly.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex within the Engineering Village platform, check the appropriate box in the top left under "Databases."
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from scholarly journals and business periodicals, also company, industry, market research reports, and cases.
Beginning Friday, July 26 and lasting for up to 10 days, EBSCO ebooks and databases will experience a pause in availability of new or updated content. Products will be available during this maintenance period, but the most current content may not be available until after the work is completed which could take up to 10 days.

Material Culture Resources

Handbook of Material Culture
Publication Date: 2013
The Handbook of Material Culture provides a critical survey of the theories, concepts, intellectual debates, substantive domains, and traditions of study characterizing the analysis of "things."
The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies
Publication Date: 2010
Written by an international team of experts, this handbook makes accessible a full range of theoretical and applied approaches to the study of material culture, and the place of materiality in social theory.
The Oxford Handbook of History and Material Culture
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines how material culture can enhance historians' understanding of the past, both worldwide and across time.
Thinking Through Material Culture
Publication Date: 2005
Knappett contributes to this emergent field by adopting a wide-ranging interdisciplinary approach that is rooted in archaeology and integrates anthropology, sociology, art history, semiotics, psychology, and cognitive science.
The Design of Everyday Things by Don Norman
Publication Date: 2013
Design doesn't have to complicated, which is why this guide to human-centered design shows that usability is just as important as aesthetics.

Design & Technology & Justice

Race after Technology by Ruha Benjamin
Call Number: HN90.I56 B46 2019
Publication Date: 2019
From everyday apps to complex algorithms, Ruha Benjamin cuts through tech-industry hype to understand how emerging technologies can reinforce White supremacy and deepen social inequity.
Design Justice by Sasha Costanza-Chock
ISBN: 9780262356862
Publication Date: 2020
An exploration of how design might be led by marginalized communities, dismantle structural inequality, and advance collective liberation and ecological survival.
Weapons of Math Destruction by Cathy O'Neil
Call Number: QA76.9.B45 O64 2017
ISBN: 9780553418835
Publication Date: 2017
We live in the age of the algorithm. Increasingly, the decisions that affect our lives--where we go to school, whether we can get a job or a loan, how much we pay for health insurance--are being made not by humans, but by machines.

Librarian

Elizabeth Kuhlman

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

O'Neill 313

617-552-0164

Subjects: Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Global Public Health, Mathematics

Trade Catalogs

The Library of Congress has a page devoted to listing many Trade Catalog portals (most freely accessible). Explore over there for more options!

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Digital Collections
This is a portal to several digital collections at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, each of which house thousands of trade catalogs.
Ball State Architectural Trade Catalogs
This online collection of architectural trade catalogs represents a portion of the Andrew Seager Archive of the Built Environment, a Division of University Libraries' extensive collection of trade catalogs which spans over 100 years of products and materials related to building trades in the United States.
American Antiquarian Society
The Society's Trade Catalogs collection includes almost 1,500 catalogs, an invaluable source for the study of social, business, industrial, and advertising history.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

ENGR1101: Human-Centered Design

Getting Started

Reference Sources (maybe more useful than you might think for this assignment!)

Scholarly (Science, Social Science, Engineering) Sources

Material Culture Resources

Design & Technology & Justice

Librarian

Trade Catalogs