Home

      
     Search:
   

 
Find more Books

To find more books on health and mental health, consult Quest, the library catalog. Do an advanced search in Quest, and use keywords in order to get books on your topic.


Once you have identified a book that meets your criteria, click on the subject headings in the record for the book to find similar materials.

 
 

 
About this guide

This research guide has been designed to assist students and faculty members with research in the areas of social welfare and policy. It features selected web sites, books with background information, journal databases, and current news sources.

 

 
Background Information

The following hndbooks and encyclopedias are good for getting background information and brief facts on your topic of interest.

Barusch, A.M. (2002). Foundations of Social Policy. Ca: Brooks Cole. Ref HN 59.2.B37
Chapters on polcy analysis frameworks, vulnerable populations, and policies that impact social workers.

Mayden, R.W. (2000) Social work speaks: national association of social workers policy statements. Washington, DC: NASW Press.
The NASW's policy statements on aging, child welfare, discrimination, education, employment, family planning, gender issues, health, macro issues, and political action. Also includes Social Work professional statements, including the NASW Code of Ethics.
Ref HV88.N118

Neal, Tommy. (1996). Lawmaking and the legislative process. Phoenix: Oryx Press. Ref KF4945.Z9N43
Outlines the steps for lobbying in Congress, the process of creating a bill, and the role that citizens can play in impacting legislation.

Dumouchel, R. (2005). Government assistance almanac. Detroit: Omnigraphics. Ref HC110.P63G69
A directory of federal financial and domestic programs covering grants, benefits, fellowships, and complaint investigations.


Geoffery, G. (2004). World Poverty. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio.
Ref HC59.72.P6
This handbook features chapters on factors that contribute to poverty, trade and foreign aid issues, data on world poverty. An especially useful chapter outlines special U.S. issues.


Herrick, J.M. amd Stuart, P.H. (2005). Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History. Thousand Oaks: Sage.
Ref HV12.E487
Provides biographical entries of key people in the history of social welfare, and entries providing background information on major social welfare issues in the United States.


New Strategist Publications, Inc. (2003). Access to Poverty in the United States. Ithac: Author. Ref HC110.I5A35
Data on poverty status, health insurance coverage, and pension plan participation for Americans.


Oyen, E. (2002). Best practices in poverty reduction. London: Zed Books.
Ref HC79.P6B475
An overview of methodical issues and approaches to poverty reduction.

 Simmons, P. (2001). Housing statistics of the United States. Lanham, Md: Bernan.
Ref HD7293.A1H654
Demographics of the housing demand, housing production, finance, and information on federal housing assistance.

 Rowe, G. (2008). Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work & Social Welfare. Wiley: Hoboken, NJ.Ref HV40.C635
Excellent four-volume work has current overviews of social worl related issues inluding: evidence-based practice, child welfare policy, ageing, global practice, program evaluation, asssssment, and much more.


World Bank (2004) World development report 2004: making services work for poor people. Washington, DC: Author.
Ref HC59.7.W659
Provides a framework for service provision reform in the areas of education, health services, sanitation, and politics.

(edit text Add/edit text for this content box)




 


 
 

Subject Guide

Kate Silfen

Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Email Me
View My Website / Blog
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
social work, psychology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait