WRDS
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Financial Markets" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Financial Markets   Tags: bonds, commodities, funds, mutual, stocks  

This research guide is designed to help you find key financial market information. It identifies resources in the specific areas of stocks, bonds, interest rates, mutual funds, and commodities.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/financialmarkets Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Markets Data Center

 

Markets Data Table
This free site contains 30 of the most popular tables from the Wall Street Journal including:stocks, bonds, commodities & futures, and currencies For many of the tables there is an archive of past editions

To find tables that have archived versions, look for the calendar icon at the top right of the table. Click on the icon to open a calendar that lets you select a date.

Investment Terms

  • Value Line: Glossary of Investment Terms
    If you need some help learning the terms and language of the investment world this is the site to go tol The glosssary, by the noted research firm Value Line, provides a nice definition of hundreds of investment-related terms
  • InvestorWords
    Comprehensive investing glossary with links between related terms.
 

Getting Started

There are many resources for finding infomation in the area of financial markets at Boston College. The main focus of this guide is in financial areas that relate to company, industry and economic data.

We have some specific databases that are very comprehensive and cut across all of these markets. They include: Bloomberg, Datastream and SDC Platinum. Because these databases are so rich with information there are additional, separate tabs on this guide that lead to more detailed information on them. Notice the tabs across the top.

Other related research guides:
Venture Capital and Private Equity
Hedge Funds
Company Information
Economics

New Databases

Access to the 2 new databases below is for one year only (6/2013-6/2014) and is also available via BC's WRDS account.

  • Bankscope  Icon
    Bankscope is a database of financial information for over 28,000 banks. The worldwide focus is primarily North America, Europe and Japan but includes over 4,100 other banks worldwide.
  • Amadeus  Icon
    A database of comparable financial information for public and private companies across Europe. Note BC subscription includes very large companies, about 1 million.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Sonia Ensins
Contact Info
O'Neill Library
Boston College
617/552-2414
sonia.ensins@bc.edu
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip