This is the "Home" page of the "Company Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Company Information   Tags: business/management, companies, company, corporations  

The focus of this guide is to identify online and print company resources. The guide addresses both public and private companies.
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/companyinfo Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ticker Symbols

Ticker symbols are letters used to uniquely identify a public company and can be used to make company research more effiicient. Many of the resources in this guide will identify ticker symbols, but one of the quickest way to find a ticker symbol is to use a free website like MarketWatch or MSNMoney.

 

Types of Companies

Information on companies varies greatly depending on the type of company. Use a directory to determine whether a company is public, private, non-profit or non-U.S.

Public - There is a great deal of information available on companies which trade on the stock market - SEC filings, annual reports, analysts' reports, news stories, books and case studies.

Private - Information on private companies is usually limited to brief information in directories, news stories, and sometimes books. All 50 states make some level of corporate and business filings available online, see Business Filings Databases for links to the states.

International - The amount of information on international companies varies. If the company trades on the U.S. exchanges it must file annual reports (20-F) with the SEC. Other information can be found in directories, databases, newspapers and magazines.

Non-Profit - Nonprofits must file IRS Form 990 which includes financial data.  Form 990 and other information on nonprofits  such as organizational statistics, a summary of organization goals and activities, list of board members and executives can be found in Guidestar.org (BC Community Only).   For more information see the Nonprofit Industry Research Guide.

New Databases

  • Amadeus   Icon
    Access is for one year only (June 2013 - June 2014)
    Amadeus is a database of comparable financial information for public and private companies across Europe. BC subscription includes about 1 million very large companies, meaning they have Operating Revenue >= 100 million EUR (130 million USD) and/or Total Assets >= 200 million EUR (260 million USD) and/or Employees >= 1,000 or are Listed.
  • Statista   Icon
    Statista is a searchable database of statistics on a wide range of topics, including media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, health care and more. Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Sonia Ensins
Contact Info
O'Neill Library
Boston College
617/552-2414
Send Email
Subjects:
Business
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip