This guide highlights key sources of city and state demographic statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, housing, education and industry data. Current and historical data included with links to online mapping tools. Sources are primarily online
Many disciplines study data at the community level. This guide will
provide a starting point for your search for local level data.
Note that not all data is collected at this level. State level data may be the only geographic level available for some data.
Tabs provide more topic specific resources.
State level data for a large number of categories with ranking information and graphing options.
- Population Reference Bureau
State and country ranking of social indicators.
- U.S. Postal Service Zip Code (U.S. Postal Service)
Zip Code look-up web site. Note zip codes can change over time when comparing earlier data.
- Look up Zip Code by City
Data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. Easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years. When you find data you're interested in explore it using the mapping and graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel.
- American FactFinder (Census Bureau)
Includes 2000, 2010 Census data along with American Community Survey data back to 2005. Economic and other censuses back to 2002. Includes population, housing, income, economic and geographic data. Select Topic and click "include archived data" for all years. For mapping help go to FactFinder Guided Search
- State and Local Government on the Net
Many agencies offer state and local level data. This site is organized by state with links to state offices and departments such as Housing and Community Development. Links to city level web pages are often available. Also offers search by topics such as Health and Aging to locate agency links.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (BC Community Only)
Very comprehensive access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. including abstracts and citations for print indexes and a large number of direct links to tables.
- ProQuest Statistical Datasets
Cancer Incidence (SEER) by county.
- LexisNexis Academic. (BC Community Only)
Search full text of regional newspapers for local issues such as: schools and nutrition, crime, community development updates.
- Boston Globe
Searchable, full text.