Theater Studies

Scripts/Plays

A guide to resources in drama, the performing arts, and theater.

Find Plays in Print Sources

Drama scholars’ index to plays and filmscripts: a guide to plays and filmscripts in selected anthologies, series, and periodicals. (O'Neill Reference Z5781 .S17)

Index to Full-Length Plays,1944-1964 (O'Neill Reference Z5781.T52)

Index to Plays in Periodicals, 1977-1987 (O'Neill Reference PN1721.K43x (O’Neill Reference Z5781 .K43 1979)

International Bibliography of Theatre. Annual 1982-1999 (O’Neill Stacks PN1561 I53)

International Dictionary of Theatre: Plays (O'Neill Reference PN2000.I474)

Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: an Author- Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collection s published between 1900 and 1985. (O'Neill Reference PN1655.O66x 1988)

Find Plays in Online Sources

A parade being performed on the balcony of Nicolet's theatre at theFoire Saint-Germain (ca. 1763).

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Catalogue of plays by the world's leading dramatists.
Play Index This link opens in a new window
This database indexes over 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. It covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama.

Inter-play: an on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals
Provides access to the locations of printed plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. Includes editor and translator information and page numbers when available. Separately published plays are not included.

Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains over 250 plays with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other related ephemera.

Black Drama
Contains the full text of about 1,200 full text plays plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911)
Eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6.

Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A searchable library of English and American poetry, drama and prose.
Theatre in context collection This link opens in a new window
Contains tens of thousands of records for people, places, theatres, productions, production companies, and more. It also includes over 40,000 pages of full-text reference works and content from theatre Web sites.

Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro
The Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro full text database contains more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists during the sixteenth and seventeenth century in Spain.
Théâtre du Grand Siècle
Théâtre du Grand Siècle includes the full text of seventy-seven plays by Corneille, Moliere and Racine. This constitutes the complete works of Corneille, Moliere and Racine

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Theater Studies

Scripts/Plays

Find Plays in Print Sources

Find Plays in Online Sources