Data and Statistics for Social Workers

Children & Families

This guide is designed to help social work students find data and statistics sources on the web.

Child Maltreatment 2021
Published in 2022 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Administration on Children, Youth and Families, Children’s Bureau.

The State of the World's Children 2023
Statistical tables on child well-being by country.
UNICEF Statistics
General statistics on infant mortality, HIV/AIDS, education, child nutrition, and child health by area of the world.
World Health Organization Data and Statistics
Statistical profiles of health issues worldwide. Includes data on children.

Massachusetts Department of Children and Families: Child Maltreatment Statistics
Reports from the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families that includes maltreatment rates and other information.

Child & Adult Care Food Participation, Meals, and Cost Data
From the Department of Agriculture. Downloadable Excel data on food program participation among children.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
From the Annie E. Casey Foundation. This site features raw, downloadable data on children's well-being in each state.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse & Neglect
Includes longitudinal studies on child abuse & neglect, state level data on child welfare services, parenting among women who have been sexually abused, and more. Please note that the data sets are free, but they will take 1-3 weeks to order.

ProQuest Statistical Insight Complete Collection
Index to local, national and international intergovernmental statistical publications from 1983 to the present. Includes citation information with large number of pdf or spreadsheet downloads available.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System
This CDC site allows you to create custom tables on various risk related behaviors among youth. Tables can be created for each state.

Administration for Children & Families: Data and Research
This government site features a wealth of information on foster care & adoption, neglect & abuse, refuge data, TANF spending, and Head Start expenditures.
National Survey of Children's Health
This annual report provides secondary data on the health needs and health services used by children and adolescent in the United States.
Child Trends Databank
Basic statistics and tables on a variety of child/adolescent well-being issues. Includes data on ADHD, AIDS, bullying, dating violence, illicit drug use, and much more.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
This US Department of Health & Human Services site features pdf reports with tables of data on child neglect, abuse, adoption, welfare, and foster care.
Foundation for Child Development
FCD produces many reports on child well-being, family issues and education, throughout childhood. Search their website for topics or browse by topic.
Kaiser Family Foundation: State Health Facts
Explore facts of all 50 States broken down by type, such as demographics or Medicaid/Medicare.
National Center for Children in Poverty
Allows users to create customized data tables on low-income children by state.

Statista
Provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and more.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Children's Mental Health
Reports on depression, co-occurring disorders, substance abuse, suicide, and school mental health among children and adolescents.
US Census Bureau: Family & Living Arrangements
Detailed tables on living arrangement for children by race/ethnicity.