Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Remote Access to Library Resources

:

Linking to Library Resources

Permalinks

Permalinks are the easiest way to link to library resources in Canvas, reading lists, websites, and email. A permalink is a URL or web address that will consistently point to a specific library resource such as an article, ebook, ejournal, streaming video, database, or record in a database.

Why use permalinks:

  1. URLs or links in the address bar of your browser may be session-based or search-based and not work when copied and used another time.
  2. Linking to licensed library resources in Canvas is copyright compliant. Linking is recommended over posting digital copies of full articles or chapters.
  3. Linking allows library use to be counted. We gather usage statistics and consider usage when making decisions about journal or database cancellations.

Linking to Databases

On the A-Z Databases list, click on the Share icon share icon to the right of the database name and use the URL that appears in the popup window. This URL will connect you from off-campus using OpenAthens or EZproxy when appropriate. 

share button next to database name

Linking to books, journals, articles

Start from the Library homepage and use the library search box to search for the resource. After you find the book, chapter, article or paper you need, click on the resource name to see the description. Look for the Permalink button at the bottom of the page, click and copy.

undefined

If you are searching within a library database and want to link to a database record for an article or book, look for a permalink, stable URL, or a share link. Most databases provide a link that will bring you back to the record in the database.

Manually Creating OpenAthens Links

Most resources that use OpenAthens will have "openathens" in the URL. For these resources, if you know the URL, you can use the OpenAthens Link Generator to get the BC URL. There are some exceptions including EBSCO, ProQuest, Gale, Kanopy, see below.  

undefined

Databases that do not use the OpenAthens in the URL

These databases use OpenAthens; however, OpenAthens does not appear in the URL. These URLs do not work with the OpenAthens Link Generator. These are just examples. To find the correct URL, use either the Database A-Z list or search for the resource in Library Search.

 

Platform Steps Needed Example URL

EBSCO 

when URL begins with "search.ebscohost.com"

Add "&authtype=ip,shib&custid=s4194587" to the end of the URL.

If there is an existing "authtype" or "custid" it will need to be removed.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=eue&authtype=ip,shib&custid=s4194587

Gale URL should include "mlin_m_bostoncoll"

https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/mlin_m_bostcoll?db=AONE

Kanopy URL should include "bc"

https://bc.kanopy.com/video/danton

O'Reilly Safari URL should include "boston-college"

http://go.oreilly.com/boston-college/library/view/-/9781400863440/

ProQuest

when URL begins with "search.proquest.com"

URL should include "?accountid=9673"

https://search.proquest.com/sociology/advanced?accountid=9673

ProQuest Ebook Central URL should include "bostoncollege-ebooks"

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/bostoncollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4934552

 

Resources still using EZproxy

There are some resources that still use "proxy.bc.edu" and may migrate over time to OpenAthens.

BC OpenAthens Link Generator

Enter a link to get the BC URL for off-campus access: BC OpenAthens Link Generator

OpenAthens Bookmark

Drag the button below to install it on your browser bookmarks bar. When on a publisher page, click the button and this adds the BC Libraries OpenAthens prefix, and reloads the page.

Login via BC