NURS3170: Principles of Evidence-Based Nursing

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a full-text evidence-based medicine database which reviews and synthesizes the best research on the effects of health care. The database includes: "The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews", "Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness", "The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register", "The Cochrane Review Methodology Database", "The Cochrane Methodology Register," "Health Technology Assessment Database," and "NHS Economic Evaluation Database."

Searching the Cochrane Library

Use the general search for Title Abstract Keyword,or Advanced search > Search, to find Cochrane Reviews, Also try Advanced search > PICO search.

Cochrane reviews are high quality sources of evidence and can help you improve your search strategies.in other databases.

Use Show PICOs in the results list to view potential search terms
In full record view, use Supplementary materials > Search strategies to see subject headings, keywords, and the databases searched to complete the review

PICO Question

P: Community-dwelling senior citizens
I: Gardening
C: Not gardening
O: Quality of life, emotional and/or cognitive outcomes

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the database equivalent to Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It provides comprehensive, in depth coverage of the literature in the field of nursing. CINAHL provides access to virtually all English language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from 13 allied health disciplines. Records include citations, and abstracts.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) search tool biomedical literature. It includes bibliographic information from the MEDLINE database, as well as from additional life science journals. PubMed also provides access and links to NCBI's integrated suite of molecular biology databases.

Finding Cochrane Full Text

Although you will find references to Cochrane Reviews in CINAHL, PubMed, and other databases, the Cochrane Library is structured so that links from outside will not work. Enter the Cochrane Library directly from the BC Libraries website, and search for specific reviews by author, title, etc. to view the full text.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

NURS3170: Principles of Evidence-Based Nursing

Cochrane Library

Searching the Cochrane Library

PICO Question

Finding Cochrane Full Text