Each database covers a different collection of literature, and provides different search tools. A good -quality search for evidence includes more than one database. The table below compares databases commonly used to support evidence-based nursing. All but the Cochrane Library offer limits and filters for easily focusing results on specific populations.
Select databases appropriate for your topic. In some cases, you may find additional peer-reviewed research by using databases from additional disciplines, such as environmental studies or political science.
| Features | CINAHL | PubMed & MEDLINE | PsycInfo | Cochrane Library |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coverage |
Indexing from 1937 Full Text from 1962 |
1946 - present | 1840 - present | Varies by database |
| # of Records | > 7 million | > 37 million | > 5 million | > 1 million |
| Record Types | Journals and magazines, dissertations, books | Mostly journal articles, also eBooks | Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings | Controlled trials, systematic reviews, protocols |
| Controlled Vocabulary | Yes - CINAHL Subject Headings | Yes - MeSH | Yes - APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms | Sometimes - MeSH |
| Updated | Weekly | Daily | Semi-weekly | Varies by database |
| Citation Analysis | No | No | No | No |
| Strengths | Detailed searching, grey literature | Current coverage, detailed searching, global coverage | All records include subject headings | Systematic reviews and clinical answers to inform health care decisions |
| Subject Focus | Nursing, Allied Health | Biomedicine, Health Sciences | Psychiatry, Psychology, Neuroscience, Social Sciences | Healthcare Interventions, Diagnostic Assessment |
BC Libraries subscribes to two multidisciplinary databases which are good additions to your search, particularly because of their citation analysis features.
| Features | Web of Science | Scopus |
|---|---|---|
| Coverage of Cited and Citing References |
1975 - present |
1970 - present |
| Record Types | Journals, conference proceedings, selected books | Journals, conference proceedings, selected books, patents |
| Updated | Daily | Daily |
| Strengths | More likely to be available at hospital libraries | Broader coverage of global literature |
Although Google Scholar could be considered a multidisciplinary database, its minimal search features and structural opacity (What's included? What isn't? Could someone else replicate my search?) make it a low-priority source when searching for peer reviewed research.
Publishers' websites offer an opportunity to search for the most recently published research. However, they offer minimal search features.
