Migration and Border History

Includes dozes of data sets related to migration from across the world. Date ranges vary over two-hundred years.
Open access.

Interface in English. Content in English or original languages.
Links to European historical documents that have been transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Maintained by Brigham Young University.
Open Access.

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English.
This collection includes the text of hundreds of excellent sources spanning from antiquity to the present. The have particularly robust collections in African, East Asian, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, the history of science, women's history, and a growing "global" set.
Open Access.

Interface in English. Content in English or other languages.
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more. Strongest between the 17th and 21st centuries. Content dating back to B.C.E.
Open Access.

Interface in Dutch or English. Content predominately in Dutch.
These national collections include over 370,000 books, photographs, drawings, maps, and more from the 12th to the 21st centuries. Focuses include documents related to Dutch involvement in the slave trade (particularly to Suriname) and photographs.
Open Access.

Interface in English, Dutch, or French.
Includes manuscripts, contemporary printed books, maps and plans, rare books, coins and medals, music, as well as prints and drawings.
Open Access

Moving Here explores, records and illustrates why people came to England over the last 200 years and what their experiences were and continue to be. It offers free access, for personal and educational use, to an online catalogue of versions of original material related to migration history from local, regional and national archives, libraries and museums.
Open Access.

Open Access.

Charles Booth's London enables you to search the catalogue of over 450 original notebooks from the Inquiry into Life and Labour in London (1886-1903), view 41 digitised notebooks and explore the London poverty maps.

Interface in German or English. Content primarily in German.
31,985,768 objects, including 10,069,639 with digitised media, mostly relating to German history.
Open Access.

Interface in English or German. Content pictorial with mostly German metadata.
The Federal Archives keeps approx. 12 million still pictures, aerial photographs and posters from modern German history. First photographs date from the 1860s.
Open Access.

A digital library of texts representative of the Italian cultural and literary tradition from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century, promoted by the "Inter-University Centre Library Italian telematics" (CiBit) and managed by its active unit at the University of Rome "La Sapienza ", with the support of the project" Italian Digital Library "(BDI, http://www.iccu.sbn.it/bdi.html) of the Ministry of Heritage and cultural activities.

Digital archives at the National Library of Spain. Contains manuscripts, maps, photographs, drawings, etc. Includes collections specifically focused on "Hispanoamérica," with more than 4,000 items from 1500 to the present (focused on 1800-2000).

The National Library of Portugal provides an index to its digital facsimiles and collaborates with other institutions to create interactive interfaces (see the World Digital Library, the Iberoamerican Digital Library, etc.). Coverage from the 11th to the 21st centuries. Content mostly in Portuguese.

A portal and database created by Spain's Ministerio de Cultura containing more than twenty million documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archive of the Indies and Archive of the Spanish Civil War.

Interface in Russia with partial English mask. Content predominately in Russian.
Digital Library includes over 650,000 scanned copies of books, magazines, newspapers, music publications, graphic materials, maps, plans, atlases, and audio recordings.
Open Access.

RAO's extraordinary film and photo collections from premier Russian archives are available to preview and license to media professionals.
Open Access.

Interface in Russian or partly in English. Most content in Russian.
The Russian State Library comprises the unique domestic and foreign collections in 367 languages of the world. The size of all holdings exceeds 46 million items, and about three million of them are particularly valuable editions and other documents.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.