Legal History

Includes access to Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1937 (Jones & Chipman); Index to Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates, House of Lords, 1803 – 1830; Index to the Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789; and more. Can search across collections or use the Advanced Search "Source" to limit to specific groups.

Full text of significant English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.

HeinOnline is an image-based legal research database with over 50 million pages of legal information in fully-searchable PDF format, comprising over 30 separate collections including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Treaties and Agreements Library and many others. Additional titles and years are added regularly.

Law titles - both those aimed at the practictioner & at the popular market - published prior to 1700. Easiest to use if you know the Short Title Catalogue number of title/edition (you can use the BL'S ESTC to find it).

ESTC contains records for items of all types in English anywhere in the world from the beginnings of print through the 18th century.

Digital images of more than 21,000 legal treatises on 19th and early-20th century American and British Commonwealth law.

Includes access to Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1937 (Jones & Chipman); Index to Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates, House of Lords, 1803 – 1830; Index to the Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789; and more. Can search across collections or use the Advanced Search "Source" to limit to specific groups.

Historical legal trials, mostly from England and America, drawn from the historical print collections of the Harvard and Yale Law School Libraries and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York.

Includes three collections focused on British foreign policy and diplomatic history: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939, Documents on British Policy Overseas - beginning in 1945.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

Full text of the sessional papers presented to Parliament. Papers include reports of committees, royal commissions, public bills, and accounts and papers. Coverage: 1688-2005. Formerly called House of Commons British Parliamentary Papers, Eighteenth, Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries.

The Dublin Castle administration was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the 12th century until 1922. The Royal Irish Constabulary records document the fraught relationship between the two countries and help to vividly recreate British Government policy, with the monthly reports illustrating the response to attempts at social, economic and political reform. The collection contains papers that relate to routine civil administration; and others that disclose information on prominent figures, including Eamon De Valera, Maud Gonne and Countess Markievicz.

Archive of the "Cabinet Conclusion" files from all the debates and transactions for the duration of the Stormont Administration, Northern Ireland, 1921-1972

Modules 1-5, covering "Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries," "Towards Revolution," "The American Revolution, " "Legislation and Politics in the Colonies," and "Growth, Trade and Development." Collection will eventually include the full 1,450 volumes of documents from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. Full-text searching across all manuscript documents using Handwritten Text Recognition (HTR).

Papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies, 16th-18th centuries.

Digitized manuscript and print documents on colonial history, politics, culture.

Focused on 15 significant commodities: Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Oil, Opium, Porcelain, Silver & Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, and Wine & Spirits. Each commodity is documented through manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, and rare books, allowing students to explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.

Full text of significant English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Digitized original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill's personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.