Korean Studies (Prof. Hwang)

Interface in Korean or English.
The NIKH has established a systematic database and internet service network for the purpose of facilitating the investigation, collection, exhibition, and release of historical materials in cooperation with related institutions. The Korean history database provides original text of important historical materials. Includes access to Annals of the Choson Dynasty (朝鮮王朝實錄) ; Seungjeongwon Ilgi ; Sillok ; and more.

Interface in Korean with most texts in Korean. Provides a searchable database which includes 2.7 million archival sources including documents on the colonial period, audio-visual and photographs, and serials from government and non-government sources. It also holds presidential archives, foreign documents related to Korea, oral histories, etc.

This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks, along with added texts and web site indicators. Since it was created in 1996 many of the primary sources and texts linked to have gone off line. Where possible links to the Internet Archive versions of these documents have been substituted as they should still be of use to teachers and students.

English mask with most of the sources in Korean. Includes rare books; materials from pre-1945; magazines; textbooks; medical texts; and more.

Interface in Korean or English with content predominately in Korean.
More than 8,000 digital facsimiles of art from across Korean history.

Interface in Korean or English with predominately Korean content.
Official government data portal. Focuses on recent data collections.

..."provides over 2,600 dataset from quantitative and qualitative researches on all areas of social science including politics, economics, society, psychology, and culture with metadata (data information covering research methods, research contents, and data-related publications, etc.)."

In Korean. Includes multiple classic Korean texts, maps, and more.

In Korean - works well with Google Translate. List of digital facsimiles of dozens of pictures with short explanations.

Interface in English. Material in Japanese, Korean, and other languages.
Includes more than 400 digital facsimiles of postcards and photographs of Korea focused between 1900 and 1953.
Open Access.

Over 5,000 photographs, primarily of China, 1908-1932. Sidney D. Gamble (1890-1968), an avid amateur photographer, began taking pictures in China during his first trip to the country with his family in 1908. Includes images of Korea.

This collection includes items created between 1900 and 1945 in Korea or abroad. It includes 8,000 postcard images depicting the cultural, industrial, and technological status of Korea from the first half of the 20th century and is organized into three sub-collections: Busan Museum Collection; Saga Prefecture Nagoya Castle Museum Collection; and Other images in 日本地理風俗大系 and 日本地理大系.

"Search publications of national, local governments and public institutions at once."

Interface and content in Korean.
"Provides information on legislative and national affairs, members of the National Assembly, and legislative support organizations."

Provides English language translations of constitutional documents and surrounding discussions. Includes the Constitution of the Republic of Korea, 1948 and the Socialist Constitution of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, 1972.

Provides access to speeches, press releases and policy statements in English

Interface in Korean or English with the bulk of the content in Korean.
The Joseon wangjo sillok (朝鮮王朝實錄 Veritable Records of the Joseon Dynasty) includes 28 different sets of chronological records, and each set covers one ruler's reign. It was compiled immediately after the death of the ruler in question.

US State Department documents. Full-text searchable and/or downloadable as pdf.

Contains U.S. State Department and British Foreign Office records, along with some missionary records, related to China, Japan, Korea and more that range from the mid-19th to early 20th century.

from the Wilson Center, includes declassified documents, images, oral history transcripts and the Database on Inter-Korean Relations

Interface in Korean or English with content in both languages.
"LTI Korea sprung from what was the Korean Literature Translation Fund (est. 1996) in 2001 as a result of the South Korean government’s push to share Korean literature and culture with the world." Coverage includes the peninsula and diaspora with a temporal emphasis on contemporary literature.

A national catalog of Korean old books and manuscripts. Search by title, keyword, author, and publisher.

Interface in Korean or English with content predominately in Korean.
Searchable database of Korean films with some photographs, movie posters, and viewable movies.

Interface in Korean of English with content predominately in Korean.
""Sori", meaning "sound" in Korean, is simply a physical phenomenon, but it can be significant once it becomes 'successive in order', which is called music. Music is a part of culture and a key element identifying national identity. That is why the Jeollabuk-do administration has spent lots of time and money in building a DB of traditional Korean music."

Interface and content in Korean.
Major Korean Newspapers Online including Tongnip Sinmun (from 1896).

Interface and content in Korean.
Integrated full text database of Korean historical newspapers published from 1896-1963, offering browsable full images by specific dates.

The Korean newspaper archives has important historical values ​​for political, economic, social and cultural studies. Focuses from 1883 to 1960, with 98 newspaper titles with millions of articles (6.2 million) and an index (18 million).

CRL offers a growing collection of newspapers, including newspapers from Korea. Use interlibrary loan to place a request for the newspapers you need and provide the CRL call number.

Interface and content in English.
Japan’s Korean news flagship, its mission to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising and modernising force in East Asia. Covers 1907-1937.
BC institutional login required.

Source for official North Korean media, including television, newspapers and online content

1920-1999 including Tonga Ilbo, Kyonghyang Sinmun, Maeil Kyongje, and Hangyorye sinmun (1988-1999)

A specialized site providing news and analysis on current affairs in North Korea.

"Documents the Korean-American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea, and reveals the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965."

Collection of photographs, oral histories and other archival documents addressing Korea's democracy and human rights.

"Documenting the histories of Los Angeles." Includes a section on Asian American history.

As an avid, well-trained photographer, sketcher and recorder, Straight took about 380 photographs and painted a very small number of sketches during his two spells in Korea in 1904 and 1905. The photographs document landscapes, urban scenes, people (both common, notable or noble ones), and, most interestingly, record numerous important events.

Isaacy Leroy Shaver (1893-1984) was a Methodist clergyman and missionary to Japan from the 1920s to the 1960s. The collection includes sermons, correspondence, photographs, printed material and published works related to Shaver's missionary work in Japan and Idaho. The material ranges in date from 1893-1982. Partially digitized.

Interface in English. Material in Japanese, Korean, and other languages.
Includes more than 400 digital facsimiles of postcards and photographs of Korea focused between 1900 and 1953.
Open Access.

Interface and content in Korean.
The Japanese colonial rule enacted the “Total National Mobilization Act” in 1938 and reorganized the system into a total national mobilization system. Mobilized. The National Archives of Records holds the lists received from the Japanese government, the lists produced by the Korean government, other privately donated lists, and domestic and foreign collection lists.

Interface in Korean with most texts in Korean. Provides a searchable database which includes 2.7 million archival sources including documents on the colonial period, audio-visual and photographs, and serials from government and non-government sources. It also holds presidential archives, foreign documents related to Korea, oral histories, etc.

In Korean. Includes documents of the Chosun Governor-General Museum as well as Collection of glass plates of the Chosun Governor-General (most of these photographs were taken from 1909 to 1945).

Interface and content in English.
Japan’s Korean news flagship, its mission to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising and modernising force in East Asia. Covers 1907-1937.
BC institutional login required.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

In Korean. A comprehensive information system which offers online access to materials held in the Independence Hall of Korea. This searchable database provides full texts.

Thousands of court records associated with the Korean Independence Movement in the early 20th century.

U.S. focused. Includes nearly 1000 Korean War oral histories, over 2900 video clips, and over 1800 photos, documentary on the Korean War.

This collection of primary source documents sheds light on the question of "who started the Korean War?" Includes diplomatic correspondence and more.

Provides a total of 3,130 cases of Korean War and the Vietnam War materials, including information on leading patriots, the two wars and battles, battle sites, monuments, weapons, military relics, military terms, and photographs concerning the wars and military history.

Includes videos about Korean War, provided by the National Archives of Korea

"Facilitates the online consultation of the publicly disclosed formal documents of the NATO International Staff (IS) and International Military Staff (IMS). In the coming years, NATO Archives Online will also include publicly disclosed documents originating from Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE)." A small selection of declassified documents are provided as digital facsimiles.

Includes a variety of information from the U.S. government about the Korean War.

Digitized stamp collection containing over 2,000 images from the University of Chicago Library illustrating changing politics and culture

66 hand-painted reproductions of printed propaganda posters, 1985-2002.

Contains U.S. State Department and British Foreign Office records, along with some missionary records, related to China, Japan, Korea and more that range from the mid-19th to early 20th century.

Official historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions, declassified and edited for publication. Complete run available via Hein Online; latest volumes also available directly from the U.S. Department of State.

Archival documents from the U.S. Department of State addressing the Japanese occupation of Korea, Korean War, and 1953 armistice.

This web site at George Washington University collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Includes documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis and the Iran Contra controversy.

Interface in Korean or English with content in Korean and/or English.
"Documents in civil affairs such as the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Foreign Affairs Bureau (FAS), and the Ministry of Foreign Economy, among the data held by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the War Intelligence Agency, the U.S. Air Force Headquarters, the Supreme Commander of the Allied Forces of the Far Eastern Command, and the Japanese colonial period of the UN Command Documents in the military field, including documents related to the Vietnam War, and documents related to Korean troops participating in the Vietnam War, and documents captured during the Second World War and the Korean War (National Archives Collection of Foreign Records Seized). Etc. A total of 3,135,036 pages were collected at the end of 2020."