Reference for History

Access to Boston College's subscriptions to Oxford's bibliographies on subjects including African Studies, Public Health, and Victorian Literature, and more.

This database is a bibliographic/location information database on Korean-related Japanese books (including magazines) published between 1868 and 1945. The basis of the creation of this database was the book “Korean Studies Bibliography 1868-1945” published in 1970 by the Oriental Studies Literature Center, which is the predecessor of the current Center for Oriental Studies Research (1/3 volume)*.

Naver Scholar provides an easy way to search across for scholarly information in Korea. It is available to search articles, theses and research papers from more than 70 scholarly databases, universities, academic libraries and other research centers. Bibliographic information, abstracts, table of contents, references and citations are offered. Some of the materials may be available in full-text.

A national catalog of Korean old books and manuscripts. Search by title, keyword, author, and publisher.

A comprehensive database of more than 16,000 historic Korean figures from ancient to modern developed by the Academy of Korean Studies and the Korea Agency for Digital Opportunity and Promotion. It provides information the origins and history of Korean family names and the detailed lists of those who passed the official exams of the Chosŏn dynasty (국조문과방목. 무과방목, 사마방목, 잡과방목). This database is searchable by keyword, name, and family origin.

This encyclopedic online database was developed by the Academy of Korean Studies and holds much information about Korean art, culture, folklore, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. Search by keyword and browse by subject. More resources are found in the Academy of Korean Studies website.