Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Reference for History

:

Japanese History

This is a brief guide to material at BC providing reference (dictionaries, encyclopedia, biographies, bibliographies, indices, and more) on historical topics.

Reference Shelf Top Box

This page provides access points to BC's subscriptions to reference material on Japanese history. Here, you can find resources for finding definitions (e.g., dictionaries); suggested scholarly material (e.g., bibliographies); as well as background material and explanations written by experts in their fields (e.g., encyclopedia and handbooks).  

What's on This Page

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

    Find Definitions

    Dictionaries are specifically designed to provide people with definitions to words and phrases. They might also give you information on pronunciation, use, and possibly origin. Here, there are two types of dictionaries: language and historical.

    Keep in mind as you work that meaning changes over time. For example, which days count as "weekdays" has shifted from Monday through Saturday to Monday through Friday over the last two centuries. Dictionaries--particularly historical dictionaries--can help put those terms in context. 

    Japanese Language Dictionaries

    Historical Dictionaries

    Find Recommendations for Scholarly Material

    There are catalogs and indices, which list scholarly literature and then there are bibliographies with recommended of literature.  

    Bibliographies

    Catalogs 

    Find Biographical Information (Who's Who)

    Find Background Information

    Find Historical Overviews