History Portal

British Archives Online provides American material from the archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 1635-1928. Missionaries in North America, as elsewhere, were often the only people recording and submitting regular reports of events from remote English-speaking communities around the world.

Digital editions of the papers of many of the major figures of the early republic including Adams, Hamilton, Jefferson, Madison, and Washington.

Modules 1-5, covering "Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries," "Towards Revolution," "The American Revolution, " "Legislation and Politics in the Colonies," and "Growth, Trade and Development." Collection will eventually include the full 1,450 volumes of documents from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. Full-text searching across all manuscript documents using Handwritten Text Recognition (HTR).

Online version of the primary source British history documents multi-volume series. Over 5,500 documents from 500-1914 including American Colonial Documents.

Chronicles matters considered on the floor, votes and other actions taken, in the House and Senate, as well as excerpts from executive department communications and member responses. Illuminates key moments in early American history and government as they occurred and influential decisions as they were made.

Comprises John Adams's complete diaries, selected legal papers, and the ongoing series of family correspondence and state papers. This XML edition presents in a searchable online environment all 30 volumes of the Adams Papers from the founding generation published through 2006. The contents are fully annotated, feature linked cross-references, and may be accessed by date, series, author, or recipient, as well as through a master index (coming shortly). Future volumes will appear in installments.

Contains all twenty-seven volumes of the print editionall the writings by and to Hamilton known to exist, some 12,500 documentsincluding all editorial annotations.

The papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney (17221793) and her daughter Harriott Pinckney Horry (17481830) document the lives of two observant and articulate founding-era women who were members of one of South Carolina's leading families. Their letters, diaries, and other documents span nearly a century (17391830) and provide a window on politics, social events, and people of the late colonial and early national periods.

Includes all 59 volumes of the print edition published through 2009, encompassing five series and the complete diaries. Includes a single master index and linked internal document cross-references.

Incorporates all 36 volumes published through 2009 into a single searchable online resource. Includes the first four volumes of the Retirement Series which documents the time between Jefferson's return to private life and his death in 1826. Includes all the illustrations and bibliographical content of the print edition as well as linked cross-references and indexes.