ENGL5010/HIST5220 Imaginary Walks in Old Boston

Go to Advanced Search. Select Subject in the pull-down menu and enter the following in the corresponding search box:
BOSTON (MASS.)--NEWSPAPERS
Select the relevant date range, e.g. 1800-1860 in the Start Date and End Date boxes on the right.
This will bring up quite a number of both online and microform newspapers.

Transcribed full text of several important 19th century African American newspapers.

One may visit the MHS to consult its large collection of early newspapers. The Society holds unique copies of many early Boston newspapers, such as the Boston News-Letter (1704-1776), the first continuously published American paper, and James Franklin's New-England Courant (1721-1727), which includes the first appearance of teenage Benjamin Franklin in print. The collection also has many 19th-century Massachusetts titles, including a complete run of the Liberator (1831-1865), William Lloyd Garrison's antislavery newspaper, and the 1870 Trans-Continental, a paper "published daily on the Pullman Hotel Express between Boston and San Francisco," the first transcontinental railroad trip originating in Boston. If you plan to visit the MHS (1154 Boylston Street, Boston), do some preparatory research by consulting its catalog: Abigail

The Massachusetts Antiquarian Society has an excellent collection of historic Massachusetts and Boston newspapers.

An important list of Boston historic newspapers on microfilm held by the Boston Public Library. Many date from the time period 1790 to 1860.

The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles. From your search result, click on the link(s) to connect to the digital newspaper(s). In many cases, this content is keyword searchable, depending on the hosting organization. A small number of Boston newspapers are included.

Includes hundreds of historic newspapers digitized and/or indexed by Google through their News Archive Partner Program.