Health Statistics

Health Care/Insurance

This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies.

Key Datasets

National Average Drug Acquisition Cost
Medicaid comparison drug costs.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey in SPSS, Stata and SAS formats.
Earlier years in catalog Use keyword "meps" and select material type "data
National Health Interview Survey in SPSS, Stata and SAS formats
Earlier in catalog in multiple formats. NHIS
Type "nhis" and select material type "data"
Health and Medical Care Archive (ICPSR)
Topical collection of ICPSR health and medical care data sets sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
BEA's Health Care Satellite Account
The satellite account measures U.S. health care spending by the diseases being treated (for example, cancer or diabetes) instead of by the types of goods and services purchased (such as doctor's office visits or drugs). At the same time, BEA continues to produce the traditional goods-and-services health care estimates that are part of its core statistics, such as gross domestic product.
IPUMS Integrated Public Use Microdata
Census Data back to 1850. Number of variables available vary by year. See documentation.

Find Data

Hospital Compare
DHHS site with multiple years of data on payment and care with easy download in multiple formats.
American Hospital Directory
Information on hospitals including number of beds and services provided.

WRDS - American Hospital Association AHA Annual Survey Database (2009 - Present) This link opens in a new window
WRDS requires Two-Factor Authentication (2FA). How to login to WRDS using 2FA
Contains comprehensive hospital data from 6,500 hospitals. Includes: demographics, organizational structure, facilities and services, utilization data, community orientation indicators, physician arrangements, managed care relationships, expenses. Some back years are also provided, plus Financial (CMS-HCRIS) data. WRDS password required. BC Faculty, PhD and Masters level students may set up accounts directly from the WRDS web site. Faculty may set up class accounts by selecting class for type of account.

Health Care and Social Assistance Services
Health Care and Social Assistance Services (NAICS 62): Estimated Revenue for Employer and Nonemployer Firms. Service industries annual survey.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
Compilation of state data from 1997 diagnoses and procedures.
Health Insurance Data (U.S.Census)
U.S. Census Bureau data from the Current Population Survey.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
Household-reported information on expenditures for home health visits including the type of provider, type of services received, length of the visit, reason for the visit, expenditures, and sources of payment.
Medicare County Enrollment
Includes county data on Hospital Insurance, Supplemental Medical Insurance, Unduplicated count of persons enrolled in either or both parts of the program and Persons enrolled in both parts of the program.
National Health Care Survey (NCHS)
Surveys of health care events involving hospitalizations such as surgeries and long-term stays.
PeriStats Web
An interactive perinatal data resource which was developed by the March of Dimes. This resource provides state level maternal, infant and child health-related data with some county and national level data. Summaries "at a glance".

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Health Statistics

Health Care/Insurance

Key Datasets

Find Data