Earth and Environmental Sciences

Articles

This is a guide to the major resources in Earth and Environmental Sciences at Boston College.

Databases for Earth & Environmental Sciences

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
North American Geology 1693-present, world geology 1933-present. Covers journal literature, USGS publications, theses and dissertations from US and Canadian universities.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) This link opens in a new window
Content from over 30 full-text online journals published by 22 geoscience societies & institutes. These same resources, and more, are searchable in GeoRef.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for quality literature in the sciences, social sciences and humanities in one of the most thorough citation databases available, and navigate backwards and forwards via cited and citing references.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database. Use it for author, subject and citation searching in a wide array of disciplines. Find H-Index information, compare journal impact data, and analyze publication and citation trends. Scopus provides comprehensive coverage of a large number of journals from 1996 - present, with added older content.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Searches across AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases to cover topics such as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Lyell Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the publications of The Geological Society of London, including the Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Geological Society's Special Publications, and the Engineering Geology Special Publications and Memoir book series.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
The primary database for the literature of Chemistry and related disciplines from 1907 – present with strong coverage of geochemical topics in journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, web sites and dissertations.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics of marine and brackish environments.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is also available for download.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Search this collection VTLS Visualizer.

Inspec via Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Inspec is the world's largest bibliographic database focusing on physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computer and control engineering and information technology.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button: or FindIt@BC. Find It will offer help including:

If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text.
If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Earth and Environmental Sciences

Articles

Databases for Earth & Environmental Sciences

Where's the Article?