Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Executive Branch Publications

:

Presidential Manuscript Collections

This guide provides an overview of resources on the Executive Office of the President.

Manuscript Collections

The archival papers of presidential administrations are in two major collections:

The Library of Congress has the manuscript collections of Presidents Washington through Coolidge.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) oversees the presidential libraries of Hoover through George W. Bush.  Plans are in place for the presidential library of Barack Obama to be completed in Chicago, Illinois by 2020 or 2021. 


See also the page on the Public Papers of the Presidents, a subset of the overall body of documents produced throughout each administration.

Washington to Pierce

Below are the call numbers for O'Neill' Library's holdings of the Library of Congress collection from Washington through Coolidge. Where possible, links are provided to digital collections.

George Washington (1789-1797)

E312.7 1964
Index available


Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809)

E302.J44
Index available


James Madison (1809-1817)

E302.M19 J35x 1964
Index E302.M19 I52x 1965


James Monroe (1817-1825)

E302.M74 J35x 1960
Index E302.M74 I52x 1963


Andrew Jackson (1829-1837)

E337.8.J32 A52x 1961
Index E337.8.J32 I52x 1967


Martin Van Buren (1837-1841)

E337.8.V36 M37x 1960
Calendar E337.8.V36 C34x 1910


William Henry Harrison (1841)

E337.8.H37 W54x 1958
Index E337.8.H37 I52x 1960


John Tyler (1841-1845)

E337.8.T94 J66x 1958
Index E337.8.T94 I52x 1961


James Knox Polk (1845-1849)

E415.6.P63 J35x 1964
Index E415.6.P63 I52x 1969


Zachary Taylor (1849-1850)

E415.6.T39 Z32x 1958
Index E415.6.T39 I52x 1960


Franklin Pierce (1853-1857)

E415.6.P53 F72x 1959
Index E415.6.P53 I52x 1962


James Buchanan (1857-1861)


Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)

E457.91 .A27x 1959
Index E457.91 .I52x 1960


Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)

E415.6.J66 A62x 1960
Index E415.6.J66 I52x 1963


Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877)

E660.G75 U59x 1964
Index E660.G75 I52x 1965


Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)


James A. Garfield (1881)

E660.G2 J35x 1970
Index E660.G2 I52x 1973


Chester A. Arthur (1881-1885)

E660.A7 C53x 1959
Index E660.A7 I52x 1962


Grover Cleveland (1885-1889; 1893-1897)

E660.C53 G76x 1958
Index E660.C53 I52x 1965


Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)

E660.H29 B46x 1960
Index E660.H29 I52x 1964


William McKinley (1897-1901)

E660.M14 W54x 1961
Index E660.M14 I52x 1963


Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)

E660.R883 T53x 1967
Index E660.R883 I52x 1969 (3 vol.)


William Howard Taft (1909-1913)

E660.T12 W4x 1969
Index E660.T12 I52x 1972 (6 vol.)


Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)

E660.W72 W66x 1973
Index E660.W72 I52x 1973 (3 vol.)


Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)


Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)

E742.5.C7 C34x 1959
Index

 

John and John Quincy Adams

Primary Source Collections in O'Neill Library

Presidential Libraries

The presidential libraries are overseen by the National Archives and Records Administration, which maintains the physical archives at each library and also provides access to many executive branch documents online.  For more information, see the History of the Presidential Libraries.