Skip to main content
Chat With Us

EESC 6691:Earth Systems Seminar

:

Find Articles

Resource guide for students in EESC 6691:Earth Systems Seminar

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:  or FindIt@BC.  Find It will offer help including:

  1. If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text. 
  2. If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
  3. If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

Types of Articles

Finding peer-reviewed articles

Some databases have a checkbox to limit your results to  peer-reviewed articles.  Others have a tab on the results page for "scholarly articles."  If the database doesn't identify the journals as peer-reviewed, look the journal up in Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory; peer-reviewed (refereed) journals have this icon:

Review articles

A review articles summarizes the research on a given topic.  A recent review article can be a great place to start your literature search.  The extensive references to the primary research at the end will give you many other articles to explore. The literature review section of a dissertation can serve the same purpose.  Many databases will allow you to limit your search to review articles;  check the help section of the database for details.

 

 

Alerts and RSS feeds

You can set up email alerts or RSS feeds for searches in databases or for journal current contents.  Please see the guides below for more information on setting these up.

Databases for Geology & Geophysics