EESC1507/HIST1513 - Powering America: Energy, Tech, Environment

Welcome

Library resources for EESC1507/HIST1513 - Powering America: Energy, Tech, Environment

Getting Started

This is a course guide to "Powering America: Energy, Tech, Environment" at Boston College for Spring 2021. On this page, you'll find access points to reference material, scholarly books, journal articles, news, and more. You'll also find information on how to cite to that material using the Chicago Manual of Style.

Background Sources

Access Science
provides individual articles, along with extensive links to key primary literature, videos and animations. It is updated weekly with breakthroughs and new discoveries in the sciences. Biographical information also included.
Oxford Reference Online
This is a quick go-to for high-quality, short, dictionary style descriptions, definitions, facts, and figures. Great for date and name checking.

Reference: Encyclopedias

Reference Shelf: Handbooks and Companions in Environmental History

The Basic Environmental History by Mauro Agnoletti; Simone Neri Serneri (eds.)
Call Number: Ebsco
Publication Date: 2014
This book is an introductory instrument to the main themes of environmental history, illustrating its development over time, methodological implications, results achieved and those still under discussion.
A Companion to American Environmental History by Douglas Cazaux Sackman (ed.)
Call Number: Blackwell reference online
Publication Date: 2010
A collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history.
Oxford Handbook of Environmental History by Andrew C. Isenberg (ed)
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks
Publication Date: 2014
With 25 essays, this Handbook is global in scope and innovative in organization, looking at the field thematically through such categories as climate, disease, oceans, the body, energy, consumerism, and international relations.

Reference: WWII in Operations and Data

Beans, Bullets, and Black Oil: The Story of Fleet Logistics Afloat in the Pacific During World War II
An official history of supply by the US Navy.
Global Logistics and Strategy 1940-1943
US Army official history
Global Logistics and Strategy 1943-1945
US Army official history
Hyperwar
A collection of official histories of World War II by the armed forces of many countries.
US Army in WWII: Operations Against Japan
From the official history of the war by the US Army, focuses on food, fuel, and supply for the war in the Pacific.
US Army in WWII Operations Against Germany
From the official history of the war by the US Army, focuses on food, fuel, and supply for the war in Europe.

Librarian

Asset Manager LibApps

Science Librarian

Leea Stroia

Email Me

Contact:

Room 414
Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Library
140 Commonwealth Avenue
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

617-552-0884

Subjects: First-year Writing Seminars

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

EESC1507/HIST1513 - Powering America: Energy, Tech, Environment

Welcome

Getting Started

Background Sources

Reference: Encyclopedias

Reference Shelf: Handbooks and Companions in Environmental History

Reference: WWII in Operations and Data

Librarian

Science Librarian