Podcasting Resources for Use in Education

Getting Started

This page provides resources to guide users in creating podcasts.

Podcasting in Education

Podcasting can transform teaching and student engagement. It can also be used to enhance research skills and writing into forward-thinking, creative, communication.

Use it for:

News
Reviews
Plays
Audio diaries
Interviews
School Meetings

ERC Equipment Loan Policy

All digital equipment with a 4 day loan may be borrowed for only FOUR DAYS.

The fine for overdue digital equipment is:

$10 non-refundable charge for 1 piece of equipment every day it is overdue
$20 non-refundable charge for a set of equipment every day it is overdue (a set is 1 piece of technology, i.e. a camcorder, iPad, digital voice recorder, etc., plus its supporting components)

For example:

If only a camcorder is 3 days overdue, then there is a $30 charge.

If a camcorder and any of its components (battery, power adapter, firewire cable, etc.) are 3 days overdue, then there is a $60 charge.

When charges are billed to Boston College Student Accounts, the borrower is responsible for all charges associated with each item. The charges are dependent on the cost of replacing the particular item that is overdue or lost.

There will be a replacement charge for lost bags and tags.

Overdue charges will affect borrowing privileges at all Boston College Libraries.

Equipment

Yeti ultimate USB microphone : for professional recording
This USB microphone plugs into a laptop to record a podcast.
iPad Pro
Use an iPad for all-in-one apps to create and edit podcasts.
TekNmotion Yapster Plus headset
Wearing headphones during recording helps with hearing what is being recorded. Microphones can also be used to make editing the podcast easier.
Laptop (available at O'Neill and Social Work Library)
Laptops are used for accessing sites and software when recording, editing, designing, and hosting sites for your podcast.

Software

Anchor
Anchor is an all-in-one platform where you can create, distribute, and monetize your podcast from any device, for free.
more...less...
Software
Audacity
Audacity is an open-source free podcasting app that has what a podcaster would need. While this is a bare-bones option, it’s one of the best podcasting tools for beginners looking to test out the medium.
Buzzsprout
Free platform to upload a podcast.
Canva
Free templates to create graphics to promote a podcast.
Free Music Archive
Free music to download music for your podcast. The music is licensed under Creative Commons.
Podbean
Everything You Need to Create, Manage & Promote Your Podcast
Easy uploading and publishing tools, stunning templates, custom domains, social & promotional
tools, embeddable podcast player, monetization tools and more.
SoundCloud
SoundCloud is a good portable podcast recorder and uploader

Accessibility

Podcast Accessibility
This website will help ensure aspects of accessibility are addressed for a podcast.

Books

Create Your Own Podcast by Matthew Anniss
Call Number: Educational Resource Center TK5105.887 .A558 2017
ISBN: 9781410981097
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Want to make your own podcast, but don't know where to start? Think you could be the next podcaster to get millions of downloads? This book is packed with practical tips on how to make your own podcast, from planning and preparing to actually recording, editing, and posting your work. It even offers advice on the next step -- vodcasting! Success stories of how famous podcasters made their mark on the industry are sure to motivate you. Go on, be a media genius!
Podcasting with Youth by Lucas Maxwell
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440870354
Publication Date: 2020-06-03
Learn how to set up a student-led podcast in your library, involve staff from several subject areas, market effectively, what challenges you are likely to face, and how podcasting will benefit the students and school overall. Podcasting from the library is a growing movement. Podcasting with Youth teaches librarians and educators how to set up, develop, market, and deliver a successful youth-led podcast from their library. Putting youth in control when interviewing authors and other guests develops their leadership and technical skills and brings new users to the library to engage in a unique library activity. This program can be set up relatively cheaply, and readers will learn how to use the technology required to deliver a podcast. Sound recording equipment, microphones, mixers, and audio files may be intimidating to some librarians and educators; this book quells those fears by explaining the technology in a straightforward, how-to manner. It also includes student input on what podcasters have learned, the challenges they have faced, and their plans for the future. Author Lucas Maxwell offers many helpful tips to librarians who want to learn how to create a program that puts students in charge and allows them to produce a tangible product that their peers will be interested in. Offers practical information on how to set up your own youth-led podcast in your library, including equipment to purchase, potential pitfalls, and marketing strategies Features examples of high/middle school library podcasts from around the world Includes appendices of useful books and other material related to podcasting and using related technology in the library

How To Resources

BC Digital Studios: Making a Podcast with Audacity
This post goes through the process of and of podcasting using Audacity software.
Cult of Pedagogy: Tips for Starting a Podcast
This podcast shows the tools and processes I use to produce this podcast, some do’s and don’ts I’ve picked up through trial and error, and just general advice for anyone who wants to start their own show.
Education Week Teacher: Teaching the Art of Listening, How to Use Podcasts in the Classroom
Podcasts are far from a new classroom tool—teachers have been podcasting for more than a decade—but as their popularity continues to rise, teachers are finding new and innovative ways to bring them into the classroom.
NPR: Teaching Podcasting: A Curricular Guide for Educators
This site provides the process and a series of sample lesson plans to ensure that students have the skills and background knowledge to start making a podcast.
Practical Ed Tech: Simple Methods for Producing Podcasts
This site provides an outline of the process that is used for producing the podcast and some other methods that might be considered using.
Podcasting for Teachers: How-to Make & Use Podcasts as an Educational ToolA Quick Introduction To Podcasting For Teachers & Students
This quick introduction shows you why podcasting is so easy and how it can be used with teachers and learners. Includes examples.

Articles

Building a Better Podcast. (BC ACCESS)
The writer provides several suggestions for integrating podcasting into the K–12 curriculum. These suggestions involve being prepared and well organized, using reliable microphones and filtering out background noise, editing student podcasts to a maximum of 15 minutes, integrating podcasts into the curriculum and the classroom routine, and staying on top of new innovations in the field.
Edutopia: Student Podcasts, A Way to Promote Student Voice
Podcasting offers an empowering way for students—even young ones—to express their ideas and connect with the world. It gives them opportunities to interview people, explain how to do something, teach on a topic, and many other possibilities. And the good news is that podcasting is easier than you may think.
Hot Off the Presses: Podcasting for the Economics Classroom. (BC ACCESS)
Despite the recent interest and production of quality podcasts freely available online, there are relatively few podcasts available for K-12 teachers of economics. We see this as a missed opportunity given the real-time and real-world nature of economics. We have created the Econocast (http://econocast.org) website to help spark teachers' imaginations to leverage podcasting in the economics classroom and to help make the publication process easier. In this article, we offer a definition of podcasting, discuss how podcasting might support the economics curriculum, and present a case study of a teacher's development of an "iReport" economics podcast for her ninth grade classroom. We invite readers to help realize the potential of podcasting to engage students in meaningful learning of economics concepts.
Podcasting 101 for K-12 Librarians (BC ACCESS)
The article deals with the importance of podcasting to the school libraries in the U.S. Podcasting supports efforts to differentiate instruction in the library in accordance with No Child Left Behind requirements. The podcast is a viable alternative for delivering research content or lessons to students who need remedial or extended support. While auditory learners particularly benefit when podcasts are incorporated into the teaching model, librarians can help all students and staff find ways to creatively use podcasting.
Podcasting in the Classroom: A Sound Success (BC ACCESS)
The writer discusses some of the benefits of podcasting in the classroom. In recent years, iPods have emerged as a tool for the development and delivery of curricula content through the practice of podcasting. This digital media is free, easy, and accessible, and has the ability to power up education for students from kindergarten to college age. Furthermore, the use of iPods can enhance learning by allowing students to create their own content and supplementary materials while developing their reading, editing, and presentation skill.
Podcasts in Context: Podcast Literacy: Educational, Accessible, and Diverse Podcasts for Library Users (BC ACCESS)
The article discusses the role of podcast in K-12 classrooms, the importance of transcripts for accessibility, especially for deaf and hard of hearing people and the examples of podcasts that include transcripts and tools for having transcripts created. Topics include the improvement of reading skills of students in combining listening with reading, the use of podcast for lesson planning and the incorporation of podcasts in the classroom as supplement to classroom teaching to enhance learning.

Support

Boston College: Digital Studio
Contact the Digital Scholarship Group. They have a digital studio and can help support the technical aspects of podcasting projects.
BC: Podcasting Support/Getting Started
Podcasting guide with links for podcast support software and contact information for in-person support at BC.

Sr. Liaison Librarian for Curriculum Materials

Bethany Campbell

Subjects: Education K-12 curriculum

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Podcasting Resources for Use in Education

Getting Started

Podcasting in Education

ERC Equipment Loan Policy

Equipment

Software

Accessibility

Books

How To Resources

Articles

Support

Sr. Liaison Librarian for Curriculum Materials