Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Congressional Publications

:

House Serial Set Publications

Introduction and guide to publications and records of the U.S. Congress, including legislation, Congressional Record, Committee Hearings and Reports and more.

House Serial Set Publications

House Documents : Include reports of executive agencies/departments or committee prints. They also include reports of special investigations or the annual reports of nonprofit organizations.

House Reports : Issued by committees; concern either legislation under consideration (usually being favorably reported to the full chamber for debate), or investigative findings. Often used by courts to determine legislative intent.

House Journals : Included in the Serial Set from the 15th-82nd Congresses (1817-1952).

Finding House Journals

House and Senate Journals, Series 1, 1789-1817 (BC Community Only)

US Congressional Serial Set (BC Community Only) (ongoing digitization project)

  • Includes House Journals 16th - 82nd Congresses (1818-1952)

O'Neill Stacks

  • J32. 1789a; 1789-1797 (Administration of George Washington)
  • J32. 1797a; 1797-1801 (Administration of John Adams)
  • J32. 1801a; 1801-1809 (Administration of Thomas Jefferson)
  • J32. 1809a; 1809-1817 (Administration of James Madison)

Finding House Documents

ProQuest Congressional (BC Community Only)

  • Provides abstracting and indexing of all Congressional publications from 1789 - present
  • Provides selective full text of House Documents from 104th Congress (1995-1996) - present

U.S. Serial Set (BC Community Only)

  • Ongoing digitization project; full text searching; when completed will run through 96th Congress (1979-1980)

FDSys: GPO's Federal Digital System 

  • Provides full text of House Documents from 104th Congress (1995-1996) - present

Government Documents Fiche; Y 1.1/7:

  • 97th Congress (1981-1982) - present (most titles can be found in the library catalog)

CIS Fiche (these titles are not cataloged)

  • CIS Index; Gov Docs Ref Stacks KF49.C65 - Use the Index to search for titles, subjects, names, etc. The Index will provide the CIS accessional number for locating the corresponding full text in one of the two CIS fiche libraries:
    • House Documents are included in the CIS Serial Set fiche library (1789-1969); O'Neill Microfiche KF49.C65
    • Also included in the CIS "complete" fiche library (1985-2007; Law Library holdings run from 1970-present); O'Neill Microfiche KF49.C62

Finding House Reports

ProQuest Congressional (BC Community Only)

  • Provides indexing and abstracting from 1789 - present
  • Provides full text from 1990 - present

U.S. Serial Set (BC Community Only)

  • Ongoing digitization project; full text searching; when completed will run through 96th Congress (1979-1980)

FDSys: GPO's Federal Digital System

  • Provides full text from 104th Congress (1995-1996) - present

Government Documents Fiche; Y 1.1/8:

  • 97th Congress (1981-1982) - present (most titles can be found in the library catalog)

CIS Fiche (these titles are not cataloged):

  • CIS Index; Gov Docs Ref Stacks KF49.C65 - Use the Index to search for titles, subjects, names, etc. The Index will provide the CIS accessional number for locating the corresponding full text in one of the two CIS fiche libraries:
    • House Reports are included in the CIS Serial Set fiche library (1789-1969); O'Neill Microfiche KF49.C65
    • Also included in the CIS "complete" fiche library (1985-2007; Law Library holdings run from 1970-present); O'Neill Microfiche KF49.C62