Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Classical Studies Portal

:

Building the Collection

Starting Point for Classical Studies Research

The Western Classical Tradition

Homer

Portrait of Homer. Roman copy after a Greek Hellenistic original. British Museum.

Classical Studies Collection Emphases

Collection building emphasis for the Classical Studies collection is placed on the classical periods for Greek and Latin and on the modern period for Greek. Literature is collected in translation to support comparative literary studies and introductory courses. Modern Greek literature and materials on modern Greek history and culture have been acquired by direct purchase in Greece, thanks to periodic visits by a member of the Department. Research and study in Classical Studies relies heavily on materials from other subject collections relevant to Classical Studies, e.g., Philosophy and History.

Current E-Books

A growing percentage of newly published scholarly books are now available in both print and electronic formats. When selecting books in Classical Studies, e-books are preferred over print when they are essay collections and reference works because they are rarely read cover-to-cover and usage of such works is typically by individual essay or reference article which can be downloaded and printed. When selecting monographs, print is the preferred format. If a print or e-book has been added to the collection, users may always request acquisition of the title in the alternate format. Any e-book selected for the collection must meet the library’s selection criteria for e-books.

Acquisition Highlights

More on Collections

For information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the Classical Studies collection by e-mailing the Subject Librarian for Classical Studies, Jonas Barciauskas.