Classical Studies

Primary Texts Online

This guide is meant to help identify materials for basic and advanced research in Classical Studies.

Library of Latin Texts CLCLT This link opens in a new window
CLCLT contains pagan and Christian Latin texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) to the documents of the Second Vatican Council.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
This resource is an interconnected, fully searchable library of over 500 volumes of Latin and Greek texts and their accompanying English translations including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

Open Greek and Latin Project
The ultimate goal is to represent every source text produced in Classical Greek or Latin from antiquity through the present, including texts preserved in manuscript tradition as well as on inscriptions, papyri, ostraca and other written artifacts. The Open Greek and Latin Project aims at providing at least one version for all Greek and Latin sources produced during antiquity (through c. 600 CE) and a growing collection from the vast body of post-classical Greek and Latin that still survives.
Europeana
An authoritative source to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe from distinguished cultural and scientific institutions.

Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Long a classic, this series of more than 160 volumes remains the most comprehensive collection of Greek patristic material relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource includes Greek and Latin primary texts (with English translations), secondary works, and images for studying classical culture and history. Provides access to classical Greek texts in transliterated into the Roman alphabet with nearly each word linked to word study tools including a lexicon. Other materials include secondary sources, images and photographs.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The TLG is the major resource for searching and analyzing Greek texts of the classical, patristic, and medieval eras.
Users must register for individual accounts

Census of Modern Greek Literature
An index to Modern Greek literature for English speakers. Covers English translations of the works of about 800 literary authors, as well as English-language scholarship about them.