Here are some examples
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Biography in Context Biographical information on thousands of people throughout history and from around the world.
Marquis Biography Online International in scope, this database includes biographies of people in business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, and entertainment
Maya Sadarangani Research Topics for Interview Project with Phoung Tran:
Research Question → How has Phoung’s decision to work in the culinary space been influenced by the dearth of food during the Vietnam War, acclimatizing to the cuisine of a new culture and his experiences with leftovers at his foster home?
Research Topics → Food and Poverty in Saigon during the Vietnam War, Vietnamese Food Staples, Food in the Projects for Immigrants, The Significance of the term “Leftovers”, People’s relationships with unfamiliar cuisines
Research Question → How did Phoung journey from food insecurity to professionalism assist him in maintaining diaspora bonds?
Research Topics → Food insecurity during the Vietnam War, Food’s impact on social interaction, Why most people decide to become chefs, Do most chefs specialize in creating dishes from their roots or their journey, A chef’s inspiration for innovation, Immigrants and food ties
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. ethnic and minority newspapers and other periodicals, many not in library print collections, from the late 1950s to the present. The full text of the article is available from the citation list produced by keyword searches. English and Spanish searching available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Strength from 1990 to the present. Nexis Uni replaces Lexis-Nexis Academic.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals covering management, education, health and social care, and library science.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Madeline’s Research Topics:
How did my grandmother’s immigration differ from many others at the time due to her family’s privileges and connections?
What were the main cultural differences between the Czech Republic and America at this time? How did the experiences of Czech immigrants differ from their original lives?
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Nyle’s Research Topics:
Is it ethical for international law to allow countries to hold grudges against innocent people? In other words, how does the current Indian political turmoil cause innocent people to suffer?
What happened to the people that never made it out of India?
What happened to the people that never made it out of Bangladesh?
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
ProQuest Historical U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Combined searching of the historical New York Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, NY Amsterdam News, and Chicago Defender.
Jasmine’s Research Topics:
Differences between the education systems in Spain and the US
How travel to Europe was affected by the pandemic and what the implications were for many cross-continental families
Teaching certifications and processes in Spain and the US
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals covering management, education, health and social care, and library science.
Ernest’s Research Topics:
How has life as a queer person evolved in El Salvador?
How can people from a country of so much political unrest and corruption hold so much pride in where they are from?
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source provides comprehensive coverage of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy
Joe LaBarge
How do the political and economic systems of Colombia compare to experiences in the United States?
How do the requirements and difficulty with acquiring citizenship in Mexico, Colombia, and the United States compare?
How do the social systems of Colombian society differ from those of systems in different parts of the United States?
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
Imani Safari
What are some of the ways in which the military of Guinea have imposed their will against the people?
What are some ways the people of Guinea have rebelled against military rule?
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals covering management, education, health and social care, and library science.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats. Most entries provide links to the full text or other file, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
Emily Evans:
What were the causes, effects, and consequences of the civile war in El Salvador?
What are some factors that may cause the number of jobs in a country to decrease and what have some countries done in the past to remedy the situation?
How does having a community to go to when immigrating affect an immigrants expereince (as compared to someone who knows no one in their new country)?
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals covering management, education, health and social care, and library science.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats. Most entries provide links to the full text or other file, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
Julie Arenas-Antonio
Colin Gibney
The Vietnam War and how it disrupted village life in Vietnam
How the Vietnam War displaced Vietnamese villagers to the south and also to the United States and how they fared in other places
The last helicopter to leave Saigon– it MAY be a part of my own family’s story
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals covering management, education, health and social care, and library science.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats. Most entries provide links to the full text or other file, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
Brogan Dougherty
The comparison of the professional ballet system in America vs Europe, expectations/opportunities available, what opportunities does it provide for later career considering it is a physical discipline?
Why is Europe seen as a sort of center for the arts, and is it putting less emphasis on them as society turns more towards scientific jobs or more “practical” practices?
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of international music periodicals covering music history, theory, performance, ethnomusicology, education, and popular music, plus book, record, film and performance reviews.
Performing Arts Database draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, including Dance, Theater, Film, Opera, Radio,Television, Storytelling, Video and Performance Art, from scholarly studies to popular
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online is a digital platform that features playtexts, audio plays, video, and scholarly books from leading theatre publishers and companies.
This resource contains tens of thousands of records for people, places, theatres, productions, production companies, and more. It also includes more than 40,000 pages of full-text reference works and content from theatre Web sites.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through periodicals, reference materials, books, dance notation, and photographs. This collection includes exclusive access to the complete run of Dance Magazine (1927–present) in full text.
This database indexes over 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. It covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. One may search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type.
Provides access to the locations of printed plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. Includes editor and translator information and page numbers when available. Separately published plays are not included.
A subset of Literature Criticism Online, this database provides entries that provide an introductory biographical essay, a primary bibliography, a selection of full-text or excerpted criticisms reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals, and sources for additional research.
Mel Vazquez
Why did so many Iraqi refugees flee their country? Once gone from Iraq, what kind of impact did the countries they go to had on them? These countries were commonly Syria, Jordan, Egypt, Lebanon, Kuwait, Iran, and Turkey.
For Iraqi refugees, how different is it resettling in the United States than it is in the other common countries like Syria, Jordan, Egypt, Lebanon, Kuwait, Iran, Turkey and others?
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of the international serials literature in political science and its complimentary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals covering management, education, health and social care, and library science.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats. Most entries provide links to the full text or other file, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955-present.
