SOCY 334201: Faith and Conflict. Religion and Social Change in Latin America
:
Images, Audio, & Video
Under Construction
This page is currently under construction and far from complete. If you notice broken links or have suggestions, please write the subject liaison e-mail.
View streaming videos in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders.
Istituto Luce-Cinecittà is the public company that operates as the operating arm of the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism, and one of the main realities of the film industry, with a variety of commitments and activities that translate into the broader mission of support to Italian cinematography and audiovisuals.
This includes six special collections units including the African American Fox Movietone News Clips; Civil Rights Films from USC's Moving Image Research Collections; Fox Movietone News the War Years; Roman Vishniac The Subject is Nature; United States Marine Corps Films
British Pathe is one of the oldest media companies in the world and their digital archive includes clips from different events across the 20th century. BC does not have full access.
You can view and buy films and still photographs from the entire archive of 90,000 videos covering newsreel, sports footage, social history documentaries, entertainment and music stories from 1896 to 1976.
Nearly 750,000 news programs collected since 2009 from national U.S. networks. New broadcasts updated 24 hours after air. Searchable index and clips allow you to discover programs available for borrowing.
Index of national network television news programs 1968-present. Streaming access for NBC broadcasts 1968-present and some CNN broadcasts 1995-present. Requests for other broadcasts can be made through Interlibrary Loan.
Produced from 1929–1967 and released twice weekly, they were shown before feature films and in dedicated newsreel theaters. Each contains 6–7 short stories covering world events, politics, sports, and more.
Streaming video collection of international newsreels, 1929-1966. Includes transcriptions and the ability to create and export clips. Includes March of Time series.
This is the place to to discover British newsreels. It is a database of nearly every newsreels and news magazine issued in Britain between 1910 and 1983, and is managed by the British Universities Film & Video Council.
As a project partner and principal of Transit Film GmbH the German Federal Archives are responsible for the digitization of about 500 hours of film material, of which 100 hours are in HD, as well as the digitization of the entire index information of these films.
The IWM holds substantial collections of film relating to the First and Second World Wars, among which are British propaganda and service newsreels, such as the War Office Official Topical Budget for 1917-18) and War Pictorial News, Warwork News. Only a small selection have been digitized.
This is the official YouTube Channel for the Associated Press, a not-for-profit news agency headquartered in New York City. Date searching difficult - try place and event names.
Includes BFI's online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive as well as a collection of non-fiction film/television, colonial film, and some additional material on their YouTube channel.
Discover British Movietone’s newsreel archive, which contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky, via this YouTube channel.
Home to one of the most extensive and diverse motion pictures collections in the world. It includes Academy Award® nominated films, the annual Oscar® telecasts, documentaries, silent movies, experimental films, film-industry related interviews, behind-the-scenes footage, home movies, a wide range of international cinema and much, much more.
The National Film Registry selects 25 films each year showcasing the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.
The collection consists of over 9,200 advertising brochures, floor plans, price lists, and related materials that document residential and commercial real estate development in the five boroughs of New York and outlying vicinities from the 1920s to the 1970s
Millions of photographs from the 1820s to moments ago. Note: This database is available from the Boston Public Library, not directly through Boston College. You will need a BPL eCard (free for all MA residents and students) to gain access.
The Library of Congress includes many digitized collections, from music, to photos, to the papers of important people. It is easy to browse and easy to search and includes links to the law library and other important resources.
68 motion pictures, produced between 1898 and 1901, of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution. The Spanish-American War was the first U.S. war in which the motion picture camera played a role.
