You can locate books, which are not available at any of the Boston College Libraries, by searching for your topic in WorldCat a database of books in libraries nationwide. You may place your own requests through WorldCat Local
Books may be requested through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) department.
ILL requests can be made directly from WorldCat and many other databases by clicking
artlibraries.net is an international specialized meta catalogue allowing the integrated retrieval of more than 13 million records, including a high percentage of records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources from over 30 internationally distinguished libraries, museums and scholarly institutes. (Also includes results from Google Boooks and Hathi Trust)
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners and provides full-text access to well over 2,600,000 documents, almost 450,000 books, over 60,000 maps, over 43,000 manuscripts, nearly 900,000 images, and much more.
Google Books Search full text of "millions of great books you can preview or read for free." Use the advanced search to also search magazines.
Look for resources at Boston College by searching Holmes, the BC Libraries online discovery tool.
You may need to approach the subject from several directions: for example, look up both "Fashion and "Costume" to get the broadest possible view of the material.
Helpful subjects:
Clothing and dress History 20th century
Interior decoration Themes, motives
Nineteen thirties
This may seem obvious, but do not forget to use the bibliographies found in your text books and the books on reserve for your course.
Also, check the footnotes and bibliographies of the articles and books that you find for further sources.
