Both the Grove Art Online and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics contain lengthly overviews on appropriate topics.
Most entries under specific countries, such as France or Germany, follow the same topical arrangement
I. Introduction.
II. Architecture.
III. Painting and Graphic arts.
IV. Sculpture.
V. Interior Decoration
VI. Furniture.
Most entries under specific cities, such as Chicago or New York, follow the same topical arrangement
I. History.
II. Urban development.
III. Art life and organization.
IV. Centre of production.
V. Buildings and monuments
Look under Urban Development to see complete listing.
The most authoritative encyclopedia for Art is the Grove Art Online, (now available through Oxford Art Online)
Most articles have an informative outline which can be useful in placing your topic in a larger context or to focus on specific time periods or issues.
Consider the bibliographies located at the end of most articles. The references are listed chronologically and allow you to trace the path of scholarship. Check for more recent and related articles and books, written by the author(s) of the encyclopedia entries and cited in the bibliographies.
Consider the selective bibliographies located at the end of most articles. The references are listed chronologically and allow you to trace the path of scholarship. Check for more recent and related articles and books, written by the author(s) of the encyclopedia entries and cited in the bibliographies.
Abbreviations used in the Bibliographies can be found by clicking the Cite button at the top of the page
.
Links to images and other articles of related content can be found by choosing the appropriate tab.
Great events from history: Arts and culture series
v. 1. 1897-1921 -- v. 2. 1922-1937 -- v. 3. 1937-1954 -- v. 4. 1955-1969 --v. 5. 1969-1992.
BAPST Reference NX456 .G72 1993
American Popular Culture Through History Series A series of books covering the American Revolution to the 1990s covering topics such as Life and Youth, Everyday America, World of Youth, Advertising, Architecture and Design, Fashion, Food and Drink, Leisure Activities, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Travel and Recreation, Visual Arts , Cost of Products.
