Skip to main content
Chat With Us

HS 247: Irish Material Culture: 1770-1930

:

Primary Sources

This guide will provide multidisciplinary resources to support research and documentation for Irish Material Culture

About Primary Sources

hearth

Primary sources are materials that provide a historical record for the way life was in the past or how a particular event or movement came to be and unfolded. Sources include first-hand accounts such as those found in diaries, memoirs, letters and newspaper articles. Other important sources are records of government proceedings. See the History guide for more information.

 

Photo from National Folklore Collection UCD

Primary Sources in the BC Libraries Catalog

 Use this search box to find collections of primary materials, including diaries, correspondence, speeches, and more, on a subject that you enter.


You can also click on the links below the form for sources in those broad areas.

Search Holmes for primary materials on a subject:


Online Government Documents

Historical Newspapers

  • Irish Newspaper Archives
  • This online resource offers access to national and regional Irish newspapers, covering dates from 1763 to the present.  
  •  
  • Irish Serials in the Boston College Libraries Database includes individual titles for newspapers included in different microform series, such as Irish Political and Radical Newspapers, 20th Century and Northern Ireland Political Literature . Each entry in the database displays the titles and dates available at the O'Neill or Burns Libraries.
  • The Irish Times (Historical Newspaper) (BC Community Only)Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of both The Irish Times (1859-2006) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958).